online armor free outbound data question

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by wutsup, May 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    hey wilders, i was monitoring the online armor free firewall status and i noticed that sometimes when i type, the outbound data goes to anywhere between 6b/s to around 10b/s.

    is this normal? right now as im typing i dont see any outbound data activity, but sometimes i can see some outbound data

    or could it just be normal inbound/outbound data going in and out?
     
  2. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    anyone?

    oh and can a mod move this to the firewall section
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2010
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,981
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    wutsup, as requested, the thread has been moved.
     
  4. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    noone?
     
  5. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    i think it is normal as OA might be querying its OASIS database about progs being run
     
  6. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    does the free version even use oasis?
     
  7. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  8. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    In my experiance, no it only uses the prefigured whitelist. It doesn't use OASIS like the paid versions do to confirm popularity based on users.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2010
  9. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    could the outbound data mean a keylogger? or is it just normal behavior of the computer?
     
  10. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    It depends on what process and what location it is establishing the connection.

    Also are you sure it is always when you type or just every so often it sends in and out?
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2010
  11. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    mosrtly just at random times. not alwasy when i type
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.