Online Armor free does not like Sandboxie!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ratchet, Jan 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    Forever I've just accepted the fact that the slow start of a new sandboxed Firefox session was the small price to pay for the security of Sandboxie. A new session takes about 14 seconds to render MSN. Well today I accidentally discovered the culprit is OA. I had it disabled and MSN rendered in four seconds. I am behind a router (firewall) so I could just ditch OA, do a work around, try another FW, or just live with it. Anyone had this issue and fixed it? Thank You!
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2009
  2. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Use ThreatFire's custom rule to warn when an outbound connection is started.

    You should also add another custom rule to be warned when an e-mail or brwser program is executed (explorer will launch a pop-up when you start them normally).
     
  3. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,311
    Location:
    England
    Your same question over on the OA forum has some answers.
     
  4. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    After reinstalling both OA and Sb without any resolution of the issue I'm now using PC Tools FW. A new sandboxed session starts in around four seconds. I'd used it once before and basically liked it.
     
  5. Murderlove

    Murderlove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    99
    Hey Ratchet,

    I personally have not found a work around. I had been trying to figure one out for the past few months. I had been trying different ways of installing both OA and SBIE as well. Mind you that I had no other security product installed when testing it, only OA and SBIE. No luck. One could say 'live with it', but the delay was getting more and more troublesome. I finally gave up. The delay is caused by one of the HIPS components. I do not know which one since I had given up before testing this further. I did notice that by disabling the HIPS components altogether the delay was gone. So in a way you can still use the firewall, but without the HIPS.

    I suppose we are one of the few unlucky ones. But maybe future updates will solve the 'problem'.
     
  6. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    I have the problem also and experienced it with both the paid and free version of OA (no AV). Now I have OA free and Sbie paid and still see the same thing. It's about a 13 sec. delay before my firefox window comes up and I have an overclocked Quad core (3.0GHz) and 4GB of memory running XP Home.
     
  7. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,582
    Location:
    European Union
    IMO, this is not a problem with the two programs consuming all resources, so it does not matter that much how powerfull your CPU is. It is probably a software conflict between Sandboxie and OA.
     
  8. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    I almost tried it with HIPS off and then the thought kind of passed. PC Tools FW is light but isn't quite as intuitive as OA, e.g. enabling or disabling ports is kind of burdensome.
     
  9. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    If the two programs are indeed conflicting each other, then it is possible that for a brief moment, all the resources (mainly CPU cycle) might be consumed. For example, that is usually the case when an application hangs up or suddenly functions very slowly.
     
  10. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,582
    Location:
    European Union
    That should be easy to find out using task manager, process explorer or other similar app that shows resource usage. However, I was trying to point out that it is irrelevant what hardware the computer has, if there is a software conflict (you can have the best hardware in the world, all resources would be blocked/used).
     
  11. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    I see. However, you said "...is not a problem with the two programs consuming all resources." In any case, you've made your point clearer, so no need to further discuss about it. :)
     
  12. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    I stated my hardware specs to eliminate the variable that my system wasn't powerful enough. We all know it's a conflict :).

    My CPU usage never goes above 13% starting Firefox sandboxed and the 13% was the Firefox process.
     
  13. scottls

    scottls Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    37
    Online Armor PAID does not like Sandboxie either, but...!

    I am a beta tester for OA, and have posted/bug reports/logs the SB slow to open problem MANY TIMES on OA forums!
    To no avail! :mad:

    I'll have to live with it until...?!- :rolleyes:
    If you shop/bank... online, then all the well hidden keyloggers/rootkits should be a BIG concern!

    FREE OA "DOES NOT" detect keylogger/rootkit activity, and disabling HIPS removes this protection! :eek:
    PAID OA RC/public beta, is supposedly detecting 100%!
    ~~~~~~

    If you must use OA free... (or paid for that matter!), then I suggest that you also install AntiVir v9/high (does not play nicely with any other installed anti-virus, even on-demand!)!
    AntiVir detects about 90% of rootkits (#1), and 99% of malware (#1)!

    I Also regularly run highly-rated free Panda Anti-rootkit v1.08 detector/remover (always been negative, so far!)- :D
    http://majorgeeks.com/Panda_Anti-Rootkit_d5457.html
    ~~~~~~~~~~

    SECURITY NOTE!- NEVER log onto shopping/bank... in Sandboxie, and delete sandbox before shopping... (I also terminate all programs, after 1min)-
    If a key logger has installed in SB, it can read your keystrokes outside of it! :eek:
     
  14. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    RC2 of OA should place nice with SBIE again :)
     
  15. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,059
    Re: Online Armor PAID does not like Sandboxie either, but...!

    If Sandboxie is set up right keyloggers should be a mute point. In mine only the browser can run, so no keylogger can, and even if it could what good is it if it can't access the internet.
     
  16. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    Re: Online Armor PAID does not like Sandboxie either, but...!

    If keylogger is implemented as toolbar or addon or plugin to a browser it has access to the internet, because it works in a browser process context.
     
  17. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Re: Online Armor PAID does not like Sandboxie either, but...!

    In my case it was not Sandboxie alone slowing down the opening of Firefox. It was some sort of conflict with OA.

    That certainly is good news to these ears :thumb:. Was it something simple or a bugger to figure out?
     
  18. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Re: Online Armor PAID does not like Sandboxie either, but...!

    To be honest, I'm not sure... we had some rather large other fish to fry - which resulted in OA becoming much lighter than before. We then had some other dramas - all since resolved.
     
  19. Chalawah

    Chalawah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    Australia
    My system:

    AMD Athlon XP 2800+ 2Gb RAM

    Sandboxie 3.34

    FF3.0.8 running in Sandboxie

    Avira Premium 9.0.0.421

    Online Armour Full 3.5.0.6 [RC2] Web Sheild disabled

    FF loads in under 5 seconds.

    Smooth and no issues.

    Whoot:D !

    Chalawah:D
     
  20. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi,

    I'm playing this days with SB and the combo OA/SB is faster at FF launch than the combo OA/DW

    After 2 days of use, I found absolutely no conflict between OA & SB

    Regards,

    MaB
     
  21. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Maybe we should change the thread title to Online Armor loves Sandboxie :)
     
  22. Chalawah

    Chalawah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    Australia
    Actually 2.2 seconds on the stopwatch to be specific. Eleven Add-ons and Roboform too.

    Chalawah
     
  23. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Re: Online Armor PAID does not like Sandboxie either, but...!

    Thanks for the reply Mike.

    For those that are saying the RC of OA is not conflicting. Did you have previous mentioned conflict between Sbie and OA? Here are my results of OA 3.0.0.190 (not beta) and Sbie 3.32.

    I ran timing tests and all except one (as noted) were done with a clean (deleted sandbox contents) sandbox starting Firefox.

    13 sec. Normal OA with protections on
    10 sec. Normal OA with protections on "unclean" sandbox
    10 sec. OA with firewall off.
    10 sec. OA with program guard off
    10 sec. OA with GUI Interface off
    2 sec. Closed and shutdown OA
    5 sec. OA with deactivated HIPS
     
  24. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Re: Online Armor PAID does not like Sandboxie either, but...!

    We had people reporting slow startups at least. I'd recommend trying the RC2 version - this is the one where it's resolved.
     
  25. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    My FF startup with Sandboxie on a cold start is 28 seconds. Shutting down OA made no differance. FF starts cold in 17 seconds in subsequent SBie startups. Not sandboxed in subsequent startups it starts in 4 seconds. After some experimenting, I installed Opera and made it my default browser. Opera starts cold in 17 seconds with SBie, and 11 seconds in subsequent startups. Not sandboxed it starts in 3 to 4 seconds in subsequent startups. So I conclude that Sandbxie is slowing down the browsers. P.S. I'm using OAv3.5.0.6RC
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2009
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.