Online Armor doesn't do P2P still..

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by tipstir, Oct 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA
    Well I thought I give it another test drive after a year or so using something else from PC Tools, still the same.. If I install back PCTOOLS Firewall Plus download speed returns. Under Online Armor it's blocks stuff and If you change the rules to what it should be it re-creates them but they're not correct. Anyway I just thought I mention this here.

    I use OA on wireless and desktops that are not use in P2P way. Seems to work that way just too bad it can't work the other way.
     
  2. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Have a look at:

    http://www.tallemu.com/webhelp3/p2p.html
     
  3. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
  4. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
  5. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Yes, although i haven't tried it. The bad thing with is workaround is that you practically open permanently a port for ANY application. A bit dangerous.

    I am waiting for a bugfix version. :D
     
  6. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Yeah, I don't like that either.

    If all our applications are specific as to ip for updating and port and are white listed it is not as bad, but a fix is in order for sure.
     
  7. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    What p2p do you use ?

    My laptop with OA and DC++ works well using WiFi (802.11abgn). Incoming TCP and UDP ports are properly handled.
     
  8. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA
    Azurerus - Can't use OA after all I had issues with every system running it. Gone back to PC Tools Firewall Plus
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.