Online Armor causes slow boot!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Flatiron, Oct 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Flatiron

    Flatiron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Alabama
    Installed OA & everything runs fine except the 2 1/2 minute boot time! :(
    And yes, I've restarted several times.:)
    Before OA it only took 45 seconds to boot.

    Any suggestions??
    Or another good free Firewall besides Comodo?
    ----
    Dell Inspiron 530 -- Vista Home Premium Service Pack 1
    Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E8300 (6MB L2 Cache,2.83GHz,1333FSB)
    3GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz - 4 DIMMs

    Firefox | Opera | Comodo BOClean | SpywareBlaster | ESET NOD32
     
  2. Leolas

    Leolas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    Modena, Italy
    Did you do a clean install, or did you upgrade OA from a previous release?
     
  3. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Yes, there is the free 2 way FW that comes with Vista itself. You could uninstall OA do a big cleanup of your system, defrag registers etc and then just use the Vista FW.

    Or as already implied, uninstall the new OA V3 do the major clean up already described and reboot. Then install OA again, make sure Vista FW is off, and reboot again.

    Then check the boot time again, after that go to OA support forum for help.
     
  4. Flatiron

    Flatiron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Alabama
    Clean install.
    I got this Dell just 2 months ago & have been using the Windows Firewall while waiting on the v3 of OA.

    I like OA so much on XP is why I waited.

    I'll try an uninstall & install again & let you all know.
     
  5. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I'm sure there's an answer, so why don't you go to the OA forum and ask the folks who know. Mike may even tell you what to do himself. ;)
     
  6. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Yes, he might.

    But we have found through many betas that a lot of the slow boots are due to 2 things, a seriously clogged up registry and a lack of a good clean defrag which is known to impact all loading times.

    The second is left over entries and folders from SW long since thought to be un-installed but still leaving debris behind. Older versions of OA can also have done this and should be cleaned off ! Best to start as if your PC has never seen OA before. All other old SW should be removed, old FW's, suites AV's etc. These things are important to do.

    If not as you say over to the support forum!
     
  7. Flatiron

    Flatiron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Alabama
    I did right after I posted here & haven't got a response yet.
    I use ERUNT before installing anything so I'm good to go there. I didn't defrag so that could've helped.
    This was the first time I put OA on this machine & have not installed but 10 or less programs on this 2 month old Dell.

    OA was the 2nd Firewall installed on this machine, first was Vista Firewall Control & did not like it.

    I've read about a few bugs on other forums(slow boot up, not remembering rules to name 2)so I might wait they're worked out.
     
  8. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    10 sec is the difference here (with and w/o). 20 sec in case of OA AV+
     
  9. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    139
    Slowdown Here, Too

    Yea, I'm also experiencing a slower startup time with Online Armor installed. I login, then I get the "Welcome" screen for about 10-15 seconds, before I finally get to the desktop.

    This is on a brand new Vista Home Premium laptop that I just purchased last month. I've already uninstalled Norton (which was bundled with my laptop :gack: ), done a thorough registry clean + defrag and cleaned + defragmented my hard drive. I've had avast! Home edition installed, but I installed it right after I uninstalled Norton, and experienced no slowdowns. So, given all these reasons, I know that this is something caused by Online Armor.

    Now, for some questions:
    • Does anyone know what part (if any) of OA that causes the slowdown?
    • Is it a conflict with avast! Home?
    • Does anyone have any tips on how to improve the startup time?
    There is one other question I have, but it doesn't pertain to the startup slowdown. Does anyone else see that Online Armor is using CPU time? Other than that, OA works very nicely here. I'm pleased with the new features and interface. Given that it's the first release, I'm not too disappointed with the issues. Hopefully a bug fix will be out shortly.
     
  10. hany3

    hany3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Posts:
    207
    for me with xp sp3 ,, online aromor " v2.0 & v3.0 " causes freeze on welcome screen for extra 15 seconds , i think this is abit annoying
    this reminds me the everlasting zonealarm problem
     
  11. Zyrtec

    Zyrtec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    USA
    Hey there,

    I'm also testing the new OA free version 3.0.190 on a spare PC equipped with a 2.8GHz P4 HT, 100GB HD and 2GB RAM and I've also noticed the slow boot problem.

    At the beginning I thought it was related to the Learning Mode of the firewall/HIPS but after 7 or 8 reboots the problem has stayed the same.

    It would be good for the OA developers to take note of that bug so they can fix it in a new release of that FW.

    Best regards,

    Carlos
     
  12. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Reading all this I checked the time from cold start on this box till a ready desktop without hourglass, running XP3.

    Autostarts on this setup:

    Online Armor Premium
    MBAM Pro
    WinPatrol Plus
    LinkScanner Pro
    HostMan

    This took exactly 63 seconds. I don't know if this is slow or fast but I am satisfied with this.

    Gerard
     
  13. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    My boot time is 60 seconds with xp sp3, OA Premiuim , NOD32, Roboform, SAS Pro. I'm okay with this as well.

    Just browsing through some of the posts many are for vista not xp so we are really not doing an apples to apples compare. As well the CPU/RAM HDD speeds and capacities impact boot time AND what services user leaves on automatic.

    The only way I can think of KNOWing my OA boot time impact is to measure it from power button on to desktop up with no hourglass without OA on the PC.

    Then install OA set it up go through Learning mode reboot and measure boot time again.

    Then you will know. Otherwise it's like taking your body temperature while immersed in a hot tub:cool:
     
  14. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    I've tried the new OA firewall with Vista (no SP 1) and XP/SP 2. With either operating system, I experience considerably longer boot time and slower surfing than I'm willing to accept. I'm currently using PC Tools ver. 4 and find it to be faster in every respect using IE 7, Firefox 3, or Chrome. I like Online Armor and have used it in the past, but I'll wait on this version until the bugs are worked out.

    BTW: I just visited the PC Tools website and they have a link to download version 5. I intend to give it a test run soon.
     
  15. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I am using the new OA free version with Avira Premium and DefenseWall. Not experiencing any slow boot or browsing issues here with Vista Home Premium SP1.

    Prior to this setup I was using KIS 2009. Boot times and browsing speed are pretty much the same for each.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.