Online Armor antivirus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by slowdive, Apr 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. slowdive

    slowdive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Can i trust it or is it better tu use online armor with other antivirus?
    Thanks
     
  2. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    Too many FPs for me!
     
  3. slowdive

    slowdive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Same ikarus that appears on latest report of virus bulletin, right?
    That ikarus has the best reactive detection but there are a few with better proactive detection....
    This is what i found.
    Need advice from the experts :)


    http://www.emsisoft.com/images/awards/mrg_comparative_1004.png
    http://www.anti-malware-reviews.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/vb_rap_1004.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2010
  4. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi,

    OA++ checks OASIS to lower the risk of possible False Positive

    Regards,

    MaB
     
  5. dr pan k

    dr pan k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Posts:
    204
  6. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    Av is very strong and effective but it's on-execution mode of running would lead me to something else for protection
     
  7. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    OA (OnlineArmor) uses Ikarus, a TOP tier antivirus. The basic OA has a Firewall Component and a HIPS component. Thus, with OA++ your real-time protection is a 3-component team of FW+HIPS+Ikarus.

    Bottom Line (IMO): OA++ is superb, state-of-the-art protection.
     
  8. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I believe they use both the Ikarus and Emsisoft engines combined for OA++...:)
     
  9. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    But the new Ikarus/A-Squared av version should have the on access real time mode.
     
  10. ratwing

    ratwing Guest

    For superb,state of the art systems.

    respect,
    rat
     
  11. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Too many FPs for me too:'(
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    Keep in mind that OA++ only scans real time, when it knows nothing about the file. If there is say for example an MS digital signature, then OA++ won't scan it.

    This reduces FP's using those engines.

    Pete
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.