Online Armor antivirus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by slowdive, Apr 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. slowdive

    slowdive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Can i trust it or is it better tu use online armor with other antivirus?
    Thanks
     
  2. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    566
    Too many FPs for me!
     
  3. slowdive

    slowdive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Same ikarus that appears on latest report of virus bulletin, right?
    That ikarus has the best reactive detection but there are a few with better proactive detection....
    This is what i found.
    Need advice from the experts :)


    http://www.emsisoft.com/images/awards/mrg_comparative_1004.png
    http://www.anti-malware-reviews.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/vb_rap_1004.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2010
  4. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi,

    OA++ checks OASIS to lower the risk of possible False Positive

    Regards,

    MaB
     
  5. dr pan k

    dr pan k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Posts:
    204
  6. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,030
    Av is very strong and effective but it's on-execution mode of running would lead me to something else for protection
     
  7. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,153
    Location:
    Hawaii
    OA (OnlineArmor) uses Ikarus, a TOP tier antivirus. The basic OA has a Firewall Component and a HIPS component. Thus, with OA++ your real-time protection is a 3-component team of FW+HIPS+Ikarus.

    Bottom Line (IMO): OA++ is superb, state-of-the-art protection.
     
  8. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I believe they use both the Ikarus and Emsisoft engines combined for OA++...:)
     
  9. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,879
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
    But the new Ikarus/A-Squared av version should have the on access real time mode.
     
  10. ratwing

    ratwing Guest

    For superb,state of the art systems.

    respect,
    rat
     
  11. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Too many FPs for me too:'(
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,011
    Keep in mind that OA++ only scans real time, when it knows nothing about the file. If there is say for example an MS digital signature, then OA++ won't scan it.

    This reduces FP's using those engines.

    Pete
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.