Online Armor 5 - final release!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by adam993, Apr 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. adam993

    adam993 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Poland
    -http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/oa/-
    Good job, Emsisoft :thumb:

    What is new?

    File & Registry Shield
    Users can create rules to limit the access of certain application groups to specified files, folders or registry keys. Due to the advanced nature of this feature it is only available in "Advanced Mode".
    Completely reworked GUI
    Online Armor 5.0 was adapted to the design of the other Emsisoft products and shows a lot of usage simplifications. Additionally the readability of alert windows has been optimized.
    IE Addons removed
    The IE Addons menu was removed. BHOs are really just another autorun and are now handled as such.
    Content filtering in Web Shield removed
    The content filtering aspects of the Web Shield were removed. They were introduced at a time when essentially all browsers lacked control over active content or your private information. Times have changed though and most modern browsers actually do a far superior job now than the Web Shield ever did. Therefore we decided to remove the content filtering from the Web Shield which will result in better compatibility and network performance.
    Improved self protection on x86 and x64 systems.
    Over 400 detail improvements and bug fixes based on user and tester feedback.

    How to upgrade from a previous version to Online Armor 5.0?
    Just run the setup and choose to upgrade your installation. In addition we will start distributing Online Armor 5.0 via online update within the next week.

    Known problems:
    The setup may offer you a trial version although it is no longer available on your system.
    Running Chrome inside a Sandboxie sandbox won't work unless you exclude Chrome from Online Armor.
    Certain themeing and desktop applications like RocketDock and WindowBlinds can cause GUI locks and crashes. We recommend to exclude the OAUI.EXE process in those applications.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  2. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Hello Adam...nice to see you :) Thanks for info...of course, already downloaded :)
     
  3. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Good grief, still haven't fixed that one; its been over a year now. :doubt:

    Acadia
     
  4. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Over a year? o_O

    Well, I will not exclude my only used browser from firewall, sorry. Next test maybe when v6 comes out, it seems. :cautious:
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    can anyone post a screenshot of what the new alerts look like?
     
  6. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Yes.
    http://support.online-armor.com/showthread.php?t=12744
    http://support.online-armor.com/showthread.php?t=14649
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=286666

    Remember, this is only if you are using Chrome inside of Sandboxie. If you are using Win7 the folder to exclude in Online Armor is c:\users\[yourusername]\Appdata\Local\Google\Chrome\Application

    Acadia
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  7. Dundertaker

    Dundertaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Posts:
    385
    Location:
    Land of the Mer Lion

    Same sentiments here too...tsk. A year of wait...

    I suppose the slow boot will still suffice also because Chrome is still also there....? I remember at the old OA forums that they point that out (because you have Chrome you are prone to slow boot something like that....I do not remember it was actually was solved also before...)

    Thinking...thinking....poof...
     
  8. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Yes, using Sandboxie (see signature) plus Iron (Chromium based). As said, excluding a browser from firewall is not really even a good workaround, let alone solution. I was completely unaware of the issue and frankly I have never seen such a flood of nonsensical popups with any firewall telling me how "application has changed" several times every second. No idea what is going there but there must be something seriously wrong with this.
     
  9. nord1

    nord1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Posts:
    116
    Anyone? What happens if instead of using Sandboxie, you use Avast 6.1's sandbox option with OA?
     
  10. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    Any changes from the last RC?
     
  11. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    You can also see the thread that I started recently over at the new OA support forum and Emsisoft's reply, doesn't give one much confidence in a fix: http://support.emsisoft.com/topic/3963-year-old-bug/

    All I know is that I don't have this problem in Outpost firewall; everything just works, but I prefer OA because it is a bit easier to use IMO.

    Acadia
     
  12. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Have you tried posting this @ SBIE forums? Maybe it can be worked around/fixed the other way round, since yeah - the above does not really add any confidence to me. :doubt:
     
  13. 031

    031 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Bangladesh
    Working smoothly and the new gui is nice.
     
  14. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    The only problem I have with OA at the moment is it blocks all internet access to a machine when you are not around to respond to a request made by an application requesting to access the internet. If an application request outbound access to the internet it blocks all internet traffic to that machine until that request is responded to. I have been informed they are working on changing OA's response to only block internet access to the requesting application in an upcoming version. Everything else is running very smooth. No other problems here what so ever. They have added some really good additions like file, and registry protection. My favorite addition is they have added automatic blocking of suspicious file extensions. This feature is essentially an AE. It blocks file spoofing like double extensions in the following combinations below. avi|bmp|wmv|doc|docx|xls|xlsx|torrent|gif|jpg|tiff|pdf|zip|rar|mp3|mp4|jpeg
    bat|cmd|com|exe|hlp|hta|lnk|js|jse|pif|scr|shb|shs|vb|vbe|vbs|ws|wsf

    I can't see myself using anything other than OA on my desktops. It offers everything I need, and if I don't want to use one of the features then I have the option of turning any of them off. Its running light on my machines. Good Job Emsisoft!!:thumb:
     
  15. Bigabe

    Bigabe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Posts:
    58
    Yea, the same here. There is actually no HIPS protecting x64 as good as OA.
    I like it very much and it is running very smooth.
    I never had a lot of popups. You just have to shut down your own paranoidity.
    If you trust a program then use install mode for it.

    Then you won't get a lot of popups.
     
  16. tolis14

    tolis14 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    And it seems they still haven't fixed the activity icon not staying visible in the notification area of windows 7...this is quite old too...
     
  17. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,308
    Location:
    England
    This can be more of a Windows 7 issue than an OA one, it's quite a common occurrence in Win 7 if you google it.
     
  18. tolis14

    tolis14 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    I have tried Comodo, ZA, PC Tools and several other firewalls and never had this issue. So, at best, it's more likely a OA / Windows 7 issue rather a Windows 7 issue alone.
     
  19. Gobbler

    Gobbler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Posts:
    270
    This can be solved by checking "Always show all icons and notifications on the taskbar".:)
     
  20. adam993

    adam993 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Poland
    these firewalls don't have an activity icon (like OA);).
     
  21. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    330
    Are there any test around?
     
  22. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    Just to report

    After 8 hours of usage on win 7 64bit

    The IO is reduced again compared to RC3. Much less than v4.5

    No bug to report so far, the icon/notification thingy didn't happen to me

    It works great with sandboxie and FF 4 ;)
     
  23. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Same experience here since yesterday morning but with XP Pro SP3. :thumb:
     
  24. constantine76

    constantine76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    178
    In OA the firewall activity is a different icon with the "shield icon" of OA. Comodo's activity is with it's icon.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Same with Zonealarm
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.