Online Armor 5.1 Public beta

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by adam993, Aug 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    976
    With the latest beta I was getting Bad_Pool_Header 0x19 bluescreens when adding packages to WIM files with DISM.
     
  2. Julian

    Julian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    103
    It would be extremely helpful if you could share a crashdump.
     
  3. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,994
    Then I wish OA would just use one tray icon instead of two. Maybe give users the option of the HIPS icon or the firewall icon? I prefer the firewall icon myself. I think the settings/configuration can be accessed through either icon, no?
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2011
  4. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    976
    It was sent via the program after I rebooted.
     
  5. andrewf

    andrewf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    25
    I guess you're talking about OA Crash dump reporting tool.

    If so - please tell me the submission ID you were given after submitting the dump.

    Best regards,
    Andrey.
     
  6. andrewf

    andrewf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    25
    Well... as for me I'd rather move the firewall status window (and the related icon) to another executable.
     
  7. Barthez

    Barthez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Poland
    Firewall status windows serves two porpuses:
    1. Displays icon in taskbar showing inbound/outbound traffic;
    2. Shows active connections and programs using them;

    As an alternative to creating separate program you could:
    1. Merge inbound/outbound traffic icon with current 'main' Online Armor icon ( some kind of bars would be shown on top of this icon);
    2. Create a link in Online Armor Status page opening firewall status window ( maybe a brief info of 3 most active process/connections). Status page has a lot of free space after all.

    Just my 0.02 €
     
  8. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,175
    Location:
    Germany
    An updated Online Armor 5.1 beta build is available:
    http://tmp.emsisoft....eArmorSetup.exe

    Online Armor 5.1.0.1315

    Changes:
    Fixed an issue that could cause a massive boot delay or freezes on some systems.
    False positives with Roboform have been fixed.
    Fixed an issue where settings for blocked applications weren't saved correctly.
    Opera should no longer be detected as an installer.
     
  9. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,994
    I hope they do something different. I'm sure there are higher priorities in the beta list of things to do, but they need to do something. This problem has been around a while.
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    I had a similar issue in my case the icon was always placed the first even if I changed the order, not a big deal just annoying xD
    I guess that a solution would be make separated programs for the two icons.
     
  11. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Don't use much these days other than SBIE and srp but I've always been a big fan of OA so I thought I'd try out the latest beta particularly as compatibility was supposed to have been enhanced.

    However I still get a real delay in opening a Firefox session sandboxed with SBIE. Excluding SBIE and Firefox from OA protection is the only way to resolve it. I've had this in previous OA builds too. No other browser or app running SBIE needs this type workaround.

    Is it only me and if not are there plans to address it?

    Thanks
     
  12. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    I haven't experienced that issue on either of two machines.
    (Running XP Pro SP3 here)
     
  13. adam993

    adam993 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Poland
    Final version has been released.
    -http://download9.emsisoft.com/OnlineArmorSetup.exe-
    Good job :)
     
  14. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,251
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Thanks for the update adam.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.