Online Armor 5.0 RC available now

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by delah, Mar 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Nope,i'm an "old dog" for OA.And never had these issues with previous versions.
    About BufferZone,i really don't know.I will try later this week to do a clean OA install,without any security or virtualization program.
     
  2. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    OA Free RC2 - first observations:
    - nice and more professional interface
    - I think more options and features
    - no freezes of system
    - no conflicts with other programs
    - and especially with other security apps...Avast Free AV and SpyShelter
    - resource usage (CPU/RAM KB/page file KB) - 4 processes
    oacat.exe - 0/2148/3616
    oahlp.exe - 0/1024/9608
    oasrv.exe - 2K/s/8192/27720
    oaui.exe - 0/8192/16944
     
  3. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    567
    Does this version support vista 64 bit? Other Emsisoft products are compatible with vista x64.
     
  4. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Have they updated the interface from RC1 to RC2? Interface in RC1 was in the right direction, but with minor errors + the notification when a program tries to connect to internect was the same as in Online Armor 4.5 and didnt fit the new layout at all.
     
  5. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    I have not had a RC 1...OA was the last time on my computer about a year ago and RC2 is the first of its installation at this time. You're right ... in fact the colors of messages does not correspond to the new design.
     
  6. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Thanks mate :) Small things like these are not crucial but it annoys me as a graphical designer. When redoing the GUI, they should have a plan and do it 100% instead of 80%. If it dosent get any better, they should fire their designer and hire me instead :argh:
     
  7. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    That, (IMHO), is a good direction for an HIPs.
    Good to see them adding protection that is actually (IMHO) needed, rather than chasing leak_tests.

    - Stem
     
  8. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    hopefully experts will finally compile which registry and file to protect
    I'm lost to which and how to protect it properly
     
  9. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    I would think that they will add rules for the final product.

    Does OA allow the saving/exporting/loading of the files/reg rules? I know I should check myself, but dont have time at the moment.

    - Stem
     
  10. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    from what I see it doesn't have that capability just yet
    we had to add it manually one by one

    Ps: if u wonder, screen shot can be seen of the first page
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
  11. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    799
    I find the responsiveness of programs that are Unknown to OA (or are set as Untrusted) to be abysmal because of OA's HIPS (opposed to other HIPS which are quick). Example, save the following as a .vbs file (benign, displays system info/phys mem info):
    OA is in Advanced mode (should be reproducible with Standard as well). Answer the popups as Allow and remember decision (not "trust this program"!). Time how long it takes to display separate information between clicking OK on the VBScript window.
    On my system (XP SP3) it takes 4-5 seconds (!) instead of, well, instantly (talking about milliseconds)
    If the file is set as Trusted it displays the info instantly, as it should.

    Edit: can someone try to reproduce this, especially if you have RocketDock installed?
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
  12. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Online Armor 5.0 RC

    We would like to see how version 5.0 stacks up against competition...:(
     
  13. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    15 minutes ago..RC3 is ready :)

    "What has changed since the last RC:

    * A few GUI tweaks (license dialog simplifications, changed order of OK and Cancel buttons in some dialogs etc.).
    * Fixed an incompatibility that prevented applications sandboxed by Sandboxie from loading certain DLLs correctly.
    * Fixed a problem that prevented certain GDI APIs from being monitored correctly on Windows 7 x86 SP1.
    * Several translation fixes.

    Known problems:

    * The setup may offer you a trial version although it is no longer available on your system.
    * The translations may be incomplete at the moment.
    * Running Chrome inside a Sandboxie sandbox won't work unless you exclude Chrome from Online Armor.
    * Certain themeing and desktop applications like RocketDock and WindowBlinds can cause GUI locks and crashes. We recommend to exclude the OAUI.EXE process in those applications."
    http://support.emsisoft.com/topic/4081-online-armor-50-third-release-candidate-available/
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2011
  14. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    Re: Online Armor 5.0 RC

    Someone beat me to posting the RC 3 :(.

    You can always test it against their leak test suite. I doubt though that Matousec will ever test Online Armor again since we certainly won't pay the ransom fee they demand.
     
  15. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Re: Online Armor 5.0 RC

    Uupsss...sorry :rolleyes:
     
  16. Dundertaker

    Dundertaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Posts:
    385
    Location:
    Land of the Mer Lion
    A friend had problems with the ver 4.5 about exclusions disappearing and having to set-up again or reload configuration from a saved config file...anyone seen this behavior yet..? She was using Winddows 7x32 and XP SP3.

    With this RC version, will you be able to load preconfigured settings from a saved config file again?

    How about an unused license...? I did have confirmation from someone at the old OA forum about it still being good(no shelf-life --time ticks upon first use)..will it still be the same..?

    Sorry for the questions here. Not been able to visit the OA forums(using Outpost/Privatefrewall/Comodo on my machines now)

    Yeah. Me too here.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2011
  17. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    Dundertaker,

    I have XP Pro SP3...no issues with remembering settings and you can import/export saved configurations. (Firewall, Websites, Settings etc.)

    Running smoothly with no apparent issues. (I am now running RC3. Each RC was installed over version 4.5.)
     
  18. Soul II Soul

    Soul II Soul Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Erotic City
    Good work, v5 rc3 runs great on my machine. Only the old fashioned pop-ups need to be fix.

    @Dundertaker

    Same as blues7, no problems here (Win7 32bit).
     
  19. cyberstorm

    cyberstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Does it support Win 7 64 bit aswell ?
     
  20. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    Absolutely, i'm using since 6 months without any problem.
     
  21. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,833
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    @ Fabian cannot get to the forum
    is it down?? thanks
     
  22. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,252
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Emsisoft has been having server issues as of late. The update server for Anti-Malware was completely down at one point a day ago.
     
  23. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Online Armor 5.0 RC

    Is this Cost so Prohibitively Large that Emsisoft cannot pay it? o_O
     
  24. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Re: Online Armor 5.0 RC

    I have already explained this elsewhere, but Matousec wants money that allegedly Tall Emu owes them. I.e., the Matousec guys think that the source code/trademark is a legal person who can owe money.

    As a matter of principle, I would not pay them even $1. :rolleyes:

    Edit: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=281529 is the local link, this post with Emsisoft stance and this one from Mike Nash (Tall Emu).
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Re: Online Armor 5.0 RC

    I agree, they shouldn't pay a single penny. The value of Matousec as a testing service, went to zero when they made it a money making enterprise.

    I just wish other products would pull out also.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.