Online Armor 3.5 Final is out

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by JCorliss, Apr 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JCorliss

    JCorliss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Posts:
    84
  2. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Re: Online Armor 3.5 Release Candidate 2

    I'm trying the Free 3.5.0.9 and it use a lot CPU while using uTorrent... :(
     
  3. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    OA paid and AV+ are out, OA Free should be out soon (at download.com).
     
  4. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    Re: Online Armor 3.5 Release Candidate 2

    Usually it takes some time for OA to learn uTorrent and then it quiets down. Alternatively you can create "allow all" uTorrent rule manually.
     
  5. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Re: Online Armor 3.5 Release Candidate 2

    In 2 hours oasrv.exe used 37 minutes of CPU, and this continues...

    How many time OA needs to learn uTorrent!? :)
     
  6. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    Re: Online Armor 3.5 Release Candidate 2

    ok the free version is out i'll try it out soon
     
  7. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    Re: Online Armor 3.5 Release Candidate 2

    Here it takes 5-10 mins.
     
  8. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Re: Online Armor 3.5 Release Candidate 2

    I used OA paid and uTorrent for latest openSUSE iso, about 700 Seeds and 200 Peers, CPU was a C2D and OS XP SP3.
    oasrv.exe: 12:42 0:00:03 > 14:42 0:00:44
    So 41s for me is a lot less than reported.

    I have only TCP/IP installed at my network connection, no QoS or anything else.
    Don't know if this makes any difference.

    Cheers
     
  9. Leolas

    Leolas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    Modena, Italy
    Re: Online Armor 3.5 Release Candidate 2

    do you have Events logging active?

    Have you also tried closing/reopening uTorrent?
     
  10. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    139
    Re: Online Armor 3.5 Release Candidate 2

    How did you get the free version so quickly? I'm still waiting for the download.com link.
     
  11. N2thuWild

    N2thuWild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Posts:
    38
  12. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    139
    Thanks for the link. I downloaded it, extracted the contents, and found the setup file was digitally signed :thumb: . Unfortunately, when I ran the setup, there was no mention of it being the free version. I may consider buying OA sometime in the future, but I always try the free versions of products (if any), then trial the paid to compare the editions.

    In any case, thanks for sharing. Hopefully Download.com will have it by tomorrow.
     
  13. Skytrooper

    Skytrooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    101
    I downloaded a zip file using N2thuWild's link. The file extracted was Online Armor Free v3.5.0.9. I just installed it on my XP SP3 PC and it's working fine so far.

    Thank you, N2thuWild. I was getting tired of waiting for download.com to get the latest free version of OA.
     
  14. nimd4

    nimd4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Belgrade
    Re: Online Armor 3.5 Release Candidate 2

    Comodo forum has a neat thread on how to configure (any) firewall for use w/uTorrent..:)

    Code:
    http://forums.comodo.com/index.php?action=printpage;topic=15677.0
    http://forums.comodo.com/index.php?topic=15677.0
    Basically, there are 5 rules. 4 to configure + 1 to block the rest. Just give it a try, it's worth it. "Direction, Source/Destination Address" may take some trial-and-error, depending on the firewall (depending on how it functions).

    Here are my Kerio 2.1.5 screenshots, in case you need them :-D

    Code:
    http://yfrog.com/0a4192009124417amp
    http://yfrog.com/0a4192009124434amp
    http://yfrog.com/0a4192009124449amp
    http://yfrog.com/0a4192009124502amp
    http://yfrog.com/0a4192009124546amp
    ps.
    I am not logging the last rule (or any rule, actually), because I couldn't care less on the home computer xD

    pps.
    Kerio's been around and now it's "Sunbelt Personal Firewall" that also works on Vista...
    Code:
    http://www.sunbeltsoftware.com/home-home-office/sunbelt-personal-firewall/
    IMO it's the most perfect Firewall, or as close as you can get; On Windows, at least (Jetico is far too complicated, even to configure :)).
     
  15. nimd4

    nimd4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Belgrade
    Re: Online Armor 3.5 Release Candidate 2

    Here it is saved w/Opera 10.00 Alpha 1413, for offline use (.mht file) :-D

    Code:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/223010490/Print_Page_-_Tutorial_for_Utorrent_with_Comodo_Firewall_3.zip.html
    MD5: F363520E70387F224D72FF1930798797 
    Code:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/223010465/Tutorial_for_Utorrent_with_Comodo_Firewall_3.zip.html
    MD5: A889D158F7C8B970AC1C4FDE2C266F72 
     
  16. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    139
    I see. The fault was mine, then; I ran the setup, and there was no mention of free, not in the setup title nor the EULA (any "free for personal use"-type wording). That scared me off. In any case, I'll re-download it and install it.

    Thanks again, N2thuWild.

    UPDATE: I re-downloaded it and installed it, and indeed it is Online Armor Free v3.5.0.9 :thumb: . Everything is working great.

    Cheers :) .
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2009
  17. munckman

    munckman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Posts:
    100
  18. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Re: Online Armor 3.5 Release Candidate 2

    No.
    Yes :)
     
  19. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Re: Online Armor 3.5 Release Candidate 2

    I found a link of it in OA forum, but it was removed... :(
     
  20. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    @nimd4,

    I just need to insert a rule to allow incoming packets on uTorrent port.
    In Comodo Firewall I'm using the stealth mode, and comodo is using almost none CPU :)

    In OA I make the same, but with opposite results... :(
     
  21. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia

    A couple of things:

    1. Make sure that uTorrent is trusted.
    2. Add in a rule for all ports for uTorrent (It will not open all ports - just allow uTorrent to use them).

    That should work fine for you, I hope.
     
  22. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
  23. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    Can you post a picture with CPU usage ? It's also interesting to have total CPU time for Idle, System and all the svchosts processes (not to forget about uTorrent itself). This is not to check your words, this is to get the whole picture.May be it could give some food for the thoughts about what is wrong there.

    Edit.
    Also, if you enable FW logging ("blocked events" is enough) and PM me the log, it could help to figure out. Though, no guarantee, of course :)

    Edit2. Also, you'd check what network drivers your copy actually uses. One of the reasons could be old drivers that didn't update properly. They are oamon.sys and oanet.sys. They should reside in the %windows%\system32\drivers directory and they should not be present in OA home directory.

    There is definitely some issue. I think there is some because here, on my side, OA CPU usage almost doesn't depend on a network activity (which is normal situation). Also it is important what firewall did you have before ? Are you sure it was uninstalled properly ? Also it is important to know what other real-time security do you run, because what you say makes me think about some compatability issue.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2009
  24. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Here you have, after a system reboot, and almost 3h45min using uTorrent:
    OA4.jpg

    I also notice my system more slow with OA when open aplications...
     
  25. Xitrum

    Xitrum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    56
    It works well at most as on mine even running on windows server 2003 xVM. Outpost internet suite works with server version of windows. GhostSecurity Internet Security suite was one of the greatest one candidates, but it seems out of business.

    There are still some issues too. Right now, after learning process is done, after running for a whole day, every time reboot now, any applications are added newly to OA are gone. Anyone has idea on it. Another one with always sticky with TRUSTED marked to Ethernet LAN Interface in OA, every time is back later on.

    OA firewall log is not in par at reading ease as to ZoneAlarm firewall, of course ZA is low end one.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.