Online Armor 1.2?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Nov 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Any News on exactly what date will Online Armor 1.2 be ready for download?

    dja2k
     
  2. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi Dja2k,

    Not yet - although, there will be an updated release on Online Armor within the next few hours, once we resolve a small glitch in the update process which would require users to re-enter their licence keys.

    However, this is not version 1.2 - even though the changes have been fairly major.

    The main change has been to separate the GUI and the Service part of OA into two pieces, and to make Online Armor multilanguage. It now supports English, Spanish, German, French, Brazilian Portuguese and Italian - with more languages coming soon (and, if you natively speak a language that you would like to see OA available in, please PM me).

    Aside from this, there have been numerous small changes, both cosmetic and functional to Online Armor. These include the following:

    * Green popup "You have blocked this program" to remind users if they have blocked something and later cannot run it.
    * Help file issue fixed and updated
    * Multi-language### help files downloaded as needed (subject to availability)
    * Different message when a program has changed, instead of asking again to trust as new EXE
    * A new mailproxy rule to stop worms (we'll be doing more in this area later)
    * Tiny Firewall compatibility - Fixed
    * PCCilin Compatibility - Fixed
    * Protect files ready for auto update from tampering
    * Improved auto update will not close OA if user selects "reboot later", so you can reboot at a time of convenience, rather than linked to autoupdate convenience.
    * Programs allowed during SCW should now all remember their state properly and not ask on reboot
    * GUI separated so one can log off, and log on to different accounts and get the GUI
    * CPU Utlisation issues investigated and fixed as appropriate
    * Remove program from programs list (right click option)
    * Program list ordering fixed
    * Some bugs in HOSTS checking fixed
    * Fixed issue where not all supported IE exensions listed
    * Alerts now are brought to top (not Stay on top)
    * OA icon flashes when there is an unhandled alert.
    * OA GUI now remembers position; Persist position between sessions

    This update (build 440) will be up on the website as soon as we have retested the updater patch and made sure it is working. While a lot of people would have no problems rekeying their licence key, many would, including me (and I have to do it several times a day *anyway* during testing).

    Once this build is up and firing, there are two small fixes that we need to address - one is an issue with NIS on shutdown, and the other is an issue with Thumbsplus. Hopefully, this fix would happen over the next few days.

    In the background, while we have been working on this version of OA we have been looking at some nice new toys.

    The first is Kernel-mode keylogger detection code. This is nearly done (its been tested by a few kind souls already) and can detect such nasties as Elite Keylogger generically, along with generic hidden registry keys, and programs such as Martins (formerly) undetectable keylogger. I planned on plugging this into 1.2 - in actual fact, I think this code is so important that we should (and will) get it release as quickly as we possibly can.

    I'll probably call that release 1.2 for marketing reasons (ie people hate 1.x releases, and 1.2 will not be a 1.x release).

    The release we all know as 1.2 will actually be called Online Armor 2.0 - which, of course, will remain available at no additional charge per the OA pricing policy.

    All things being equal, I hope to have OA 1.2 out in the next 2 weeks or so, and OA 2.0 out within the next 6-8 weeks. To get some of that code in the 1.x release I think is worth the delay.

    Hope that helps clarify things. As always, I'm available for questions, comments, beer.


    Cheers

    Mike

    ### - There are a couple of things still to import from the translators. Blame me, not them for any errors.
     
  3. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Well the update to OA is done now. It is working fine. I did notice an extra running process named onlinearmorui.exe running though. Online Armor is now taking around 26,000 K of memory in the two combined memory processes. Just to make things clear, that new .exe process and the total memory usage is normal right?

    dja2k
     
  4. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi Djak,

    Yes, that's all fine. This is because we now have a separate GUI and service part; So, it is possible for example to close down the Online Armor GUI and leave the service running - in which case, any popups would automatically be denied.


    Cheers


    Mike
     
  5. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Thanks Mike! Keep up the good work. Really enjoy the delete program from list option in the program list. Anyways, will be waiting for OA 1.2 release in the upcoming weeks.

    dja2k
     
  6. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    :) Most of the things in this release (aside from restructuring of the system, and the multi-language) is really cosmetic niceness just to make it that little bit nicer.

    For example - I got a support call from a guy who swore black and blue that OA had blocked access to Powerpoint. Turns out of course, he'd blocked it by accident - so now, the first time you try to run a program you have blocked, it gives you a little reminder.

    Glad you like it :)

    Cheers

    Mike
     
  7. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Hope this is ok Mike . If not , ban me . Some really nice things are still coming . My goodness . These TallEmu guys do not sleep . I will not be surprised if , within a year or so , OA will take care of alot of things we have separate apps for . A small as they are , they take the time to resond to emails . Mike takes time to come in here . They are CONSTANTLY adding and fixing , IF something needs to be fixed . A great product WITH great support . Where else does that exist ? It sure as Hell ain't Norton , Agnitum , WebRoot and too many others to mention . DiamondCS comes closest . But , at least with Mike and the guys at TallEmu , they continue to work AND give you the info you need to know to understand they are ACTUALLY doing something . That makes TallEmu number 1 in my book . I hope others will find out about these guys and get the program .
     
  8. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Resource usage is too high.Zap seems to do everything that OA does.Allowing scoundrel simulator to disable settings still happen.Do I really need this software?
     
  9. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Depends on how you view it's purchase price, its effect on system performance on YOUR computer and whether it duplicates any other security software you may already have installed.
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Hi Hollywoodpc

    I agree wholeheartily.

    Pete
     
  11. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    BlackCat is correct I believe .
    Hi to Peter . You ARE the man !

    Franklin .
    This is my advice . ZAP does NOT do everything OA does . ZAP is a firewall though . If you can , I suggest purchasing OA . It certainly overlaps with ZAP . It is entirely possible to only use OA without another firewall IF, you have a router . OA is excellent . If you are concerned about security , I suggest getting OA . It is really a great product . AND , at the rate it is growing , it may take over for firewalls and AVs and AS software . Again , BlackCat gives excellent advice but , ZAP is not doing all the things OA is .
    Hope I did not confuse things as I am trying to be helpful . And , if you have any questions , ANY AT ALL , just send an email to Mike at TallEmu . He can certainly help you out ..
     
  12. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The resource useage issue we are always working on, trying to tradeoff between capabilities, GUI, compatibility, peformance and size of applications.

    Personally, I find OA to have a light touch on any of the PC's that I have used it on - but yes, for some people on older machines with low amounts of RAM it may not be as much fun.

    Regarding Scoundrel Simulator - OA 1.1 does not offer registry protection at this moment in time, except for a limited set of browser-related keys. However, we have big plans in the registry area.

    Hope that helps


    Mike
     
  13. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    We certainly appriciate your work Mike. Any future plans for OA are cool with me. :)

    dja2k
     
  14. 24qwedaw

    24qwedaw Guest

  15. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    This was an old bug, fixed a long time ago now. I can send you manual removal instructions if you would like.

    cheers


    Mike
     
  16. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Was there an update today Nov 3rd, cause my online armor updated, yet I haven't had a chance to reboot to find the changes.

    dja2k
     
  17. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi,

    Yes - the update fixes an issue where "low powered" accounts had issues running the OA GUI.

    EDIT: It should also correct some parts of the Brazilian Portuguese translation and German translation as well.

    Hope that helps


    Mike
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.