One question about MBAM Pro

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by lastsamuraial, Mar 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lastsamuraial

    lastsamuraial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Tirana
    Hi there guys.

    I just bought an license of MBAM Pro which i have started to use it together with my Eset Nod32 AV.My question is that when i try to test Malwarebytes in realtime protection..it doesnt stop anything(Not an single malware was stopped).How does its "realtime" protection works?.It was worth buying it?

    Thanks in advance.:)
     
  2. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    the money is well spent ;)
    You've support a good product
    The realtime protection is a choice, turn it on if u need ip and malware filter
    I use only on demand since I already have two (or more) realtime protection
     
  3. lastsamuraial

    lastsamuraial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Tirana
    Thank u for your answer.:)

    I finally did MBAM Pro to work and its absolutely great.:thumb:
     
  4. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    MBAM Pro scans malware on-execution, so you have to execute it if you want to test it.(Of course it also has the Bad IP blocking module, but that depends on the way of testing.
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    it's strong:thumb:
     
  6. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    MBAM scans on-access, so pretty much malware should be detected whenever it's "touched" one way or another.
     
  7. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    That's not completely true, is it? MBAM does not scan on-access but rather on-execution.
     
  8. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    It scans on access. There are many I time I've downloaded malware from MDL or malcode to test. As soon as I was downloading the file and saved it, MBAM would speak up.
     
  9. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,736
    my experience: two systems - mbam (full) with eset = heavy load sometimes, not really recommend.
    means exactly what? own tests?
    that could be the interference with eset.
    BTW no boot time protection - so if it fails it has a big bang.
    documents scan - dont know (like DMON in Eset)

    its like all the others in this cloud - second opinion.
     
  10. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    As Brummelchen said, paired with another, might be a little heavy. MBAM forum recommends excluding processes from the AV in MBAM, and MBAM processes in the AV.

    I run MBAM full on its own, and it uses about 30mb of memory. Light as (I also run Hitman Pro once a day to cover any shortfalls).

    But its IP blocker seems to be very effective.
     
  11. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    It is completely true. I run it real-time and whenever I throw any piece of malware at my system, it kicks in right away. Not sure if you've tried the Pro version tho...
     
  12. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    MBAM Pro only provides on-execution protection which you by the way can see under 'settings'. Also, for more information, please have a look at their official forum; http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=31632&view=findpost&p=162310

    "MBAM which only scans them in realtime on execution in memory (this is by design so that MBAM won't interfere with antivirus software"
    - Samuel E Lindsey, Staff of Malwarebytes.

    Oh, did I forget to mention I've had MBAM Pro installed for months? ;)
     
  13. nosirrah

    nosirrah Malware Fighter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Cummington MA USA
    Many non-execution events require memory mapping for example mouse over to see details is enough to trigger detection.
     
  14. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    As you rightly say, MBAM prevents malware from entering memory in any way. By definition, MBAM is an on-execution scanner rather than an on-access scanner as these scan files regardless of action/write/read etc. :)
     
  15. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    Thank you for the accurate explanation nosirrah
    :thumb:
     
  16. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    What did you test it with? Very old malware? Malwarebytes only detects recent and prevalent threats.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2011
  17. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Someone asked recently if mouse overs are enough to cause infection?
     
  18. nosirrah

    nosirrah Malware Fighter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Cummington MA USA
    We were talking about detection trigger, not infection trigger.
     
  19. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Yes, I understand what you were talking about.
    And I asked a related question about mouse overs.
    I asked if a mouse over can cause an infection.
     
  20. nosirrah

    nosirrah Malware Fighter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Cummington MA USA
    Certain exploits can be triggered via mouse over, the wmf exploit for example.
     
  21. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    MBAM is very good against new threats :)
     
  22. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    they push signatures like 3 or 4 times a day:)
     
  23. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    For those questioning the original poster's comments about it not doing anything, he obviously tried the program, as the third post says it has done great. :)

    Run MBAM on its own, back it up with hitman pro. You'll be grinning ear to ear. Like me. :D :cool: But seriously, it's a solid program, no CPU spikes, runs light, great detection, and support always on-hand. Well worth the cash for the full version.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2011
  24. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    That's right, since I believe his first language is not english (me too btw)
    I trust that what he really mean on the first post : will it be worth to buy mbam or not?
    Not to bad mouth mbam at all, since he can't use mbam reall time if he didn't buy it
    After he buy it, he goes very happy on the third post

    Sometimes I find myself in difficult situation while explaining or defining problem with english
    But I do have some advantage while reading a fellow non english speaker/fluent :D
     
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    mbam pro is very powerfull and can be run alone:thumb: but for the script type malware it is advisible to have an antivirus also;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.