On to Vista, security renewal, recommendations?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by adam.mt, Mar 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. adam.mt

    adam.mt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    I know Vista is more secure (so far) but MS developed solutions tend to get attacked*.

    (* In my opinion the XP SP2 firewall would have been okay for novices if it wasn't for the fact that programs can so easily add themselves to the exceptions list....... but that's off subject).

    Currently running NOD32, AVG AntiSpyware, Look n Stop and Spybot S&D on WinXP (behind NAT/SPI firewall/router). NOD32 and AVG AS are due for renewal.

    Moving to Vista should I go for?

    (a) Vista, built-in UAC, NOD32 (renewal) and Look n Stop.

    (b) As above but also CyberHawk Basic (does it really offer much more since I'd prefer to keep resource use low?)

    (c) Vista, built-in UAC and Kaspersky Internet Security 6 suite

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2007
  2. KikiBibi

    KikiBibi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    I go with option (a), maybe substitute LNS with Vista Firewall.
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    id go with option c.
     
  4. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I second that and BTW, KAV was one of the first AVs compatibile with Vista, even 64-bit.
     
  5. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    I can also recommend Kaspersky. But you might also give Norton 360 a go. Great package and light in using.
     
  6. adam.mt

    adam.mt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    I don't think that makes any sense. LNS is very light and surely way better than the Vista firewall.

    Thanks for the replies so far, I'll look at Kaspersky a bit further.
     
  7. KikiBibi

    KikiBibi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Yes LnS is superior but I still vote for the Vista firewall.....
    The lesser you use, the less conflicts you have in the future.
     
  8. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    I'm using option A along with BOClean and SuperAntispyware.
    The only thing is I have the UAC turned off.

    For Windows XP I'm using KIS
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Help me out here. What is UAC?
     
  10. adam.mt

    adam.mt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    A new feature of Vista. Basically if any system level task is run the user is prompted to allow/deny. It's been introdued since 99.9% of users have got used to running accounts with full admin rights, which serverely degrades security.

    Linux and OS X have had similar for ages, though probably not so annoying (UAC can get prompt happy).
     
  11. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    User Account Control.

    I turned it off because I feel as though I dont need it, although I would recommend to keep it on for people who like to click and accept everything without knowing what they just downloaded and allowed to run on their PC.
     
  12. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Does Boclean work well with Vista?

    dja2k
     
  13. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    You will have to update BOClean manually with the UAC turned on.
    I keep it turned off and BOClean runs quietly in the background, if you keep it turned on be prepared for alot of popups telling you BOClean wants to update.
     
  14. Wake2

    Wake2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    BOC works with Vistax32 just uncheck
    auto update from the BOC configuration
    tab, and with UAC enabled just manually
    update it from the all programs menu by
    clicking BoClean, than Updater, and use
    the Run as Administrator tab.
     
  15. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I tried to run it but the icon appears and then disappears when I try to click on it to get to the options.

    dja2k
     
  16. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    Seems like something similar to what I was going through with the icon disappearing.
    I had to have a new download for BOClean e mailed to me
     
  17. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    To what customer service email did you request a new installer?

    dja2k
     
  18. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    Sorry I didnt get back sooner.
    Here is the e mail address that I received to istall BOClean

    PSC Sales <sales@nsclean.com>

    Also I would like to add there were 2 downloads I had to install

    Both links are in the email.

    1) The BOClean attachment
    2) A decoder in order to install BOClean

    Its a quick and easy installation
     
  19. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Well I emailed them on the 29th as soon as I saw your post. Its been about two business days plus the weekend and no response. Can I ask if they took long to respond to your email just to get an idea and not think they ignored my email.

    dja2k
     
  20. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    They responded to my emails the same day, couple of hours.
    I don't think they would just ignore your email.
    Maybe because they have been bought by Comodo they are changing things up a bit and it may take a little longer but I'm just guessing on this.
     
  21. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I just hope the buyout doesn't make them ignore past customers.

    dja2k
     
  22. Metal425

    Metal425 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    188
    Location:
    Southern California
    I'd go with option D,Ubuntu Linux :)
    I don't like vista,plus you don't need an AV on Ubuntu.
    If not go with option C.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.