Old computer sees flash drive size incorrectly

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by ohblu, Aug 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ohblu

    ohblu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Colorado
    I was trying to backup files on my old Win98SE computer with a flash drive and that computer is seeing the existing files on the flash drive incorrectly. The flash drive is 2 GB, and Win XP sees the used and free space sizes correctly. But the Win98SE computer sees the wrong used and free space sizes, it does see the flash drive size/capacity correctly. I installed the drivers on the 98SE computer according to the instructions for the flash drive so I can't figure out what the problem is.

    Does anyone know what might be causing the problem?

    Here's some information about the computer:
    1997 Packard Bell originally with Win95, upgraded to Win98SE
    3.2 GB Hard drive
    32 MB EDO RAM
    233 MHz Pentium Processor with MMX
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    You could try using a smaller flash drive (or partition) or using FAT instead of FAT32. For example, a 512MB drive/partition with FAT.

    Does the computer see a USB hard drive correctly?

    Quite a few older computers just don't work well with flash drives.
     
  3. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    The problem is probably the USB hardware of your PC. Unless you've added a separate USB card, it's probably USB 1.0 or 1.1. A lot of newer USB hardware doesn't work well on it.

    There is an unofficial USB upgrade available at the MSFN forum.
    http://www.msfn.org/board/topic/43605-maximus-decim-native-usb-drivers/
    If your problem is software or driver based, it should help, if the flash drive will work at the lower speeds. If you have access to a PCI USB 2.0 card, it will make a big difference.
     
  4. misterwhois

    misterwhois Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Hai Mr MudCrab


    I'm struggle :doubt: to load Dual boot Win7 as well as Mac leopard in my laptop .., can anyone help me and post step by step how to install both OS


    ;)
    Thanks in ADVANCE
    :) ;)
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    misterwhois,

    I don't have any experience with Leopard other than it sometimes being in certain multi-boot setups I've helped repair (in Acronis OSS, for example).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.