Old computer sees flash drive size incorrectly

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by ohblu, Aug 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ohblu

    ohblu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Colorado
    I was trying to backup files on my old Win98SE computer with a flash drive and that computer is seeing the existing files on the flash drive incorrectly. The flash drive is 2 GB, and Win XP sees the used and free space sizes correctly. But the Win98SE computer sees the wrong used and free space sizes, it does see the flash drive size/capacity correctly. I installed the drivers on the 98SE computer according to the instructions for the flash drive so I can't figure out what the problem is.

    Does anyone know what might be causing the problem?

    Here's some information about the computer:
    1997 Packard Bell originally with Win95, upgraded to Win98SE
    3.2 GB Hard drive
    32 MB EDO RAM
    233 MHz Pentium Processor with MMX
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    You could try using a smaller flash drive (or partition) or using FAT instead of FAT32. For example, a 512MB drive/partition with FAT.

    Does the computer see a USB hard drive correctly?

    Quite a few older computers just don't work well with flash drives.
     
  3. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    The problem is probably the USB hardware of your PC. Unless you've added a separate USB card, it's probably USB 1.0 or 1.1. A lot of newer USB hardware doesn't work well on it.

    There is an unofficial USB upgrade available at the MSFN forum.
    http://www.msfn.org/board/topic/43605-maximus-decim-native-usb-drivers/
    If your problem is software or driver based, it should help, if the flash drive will work at the lower speeds. If you have access to a PCI USB 2.0 card, it will make a big difference.
     
  4. misterwhois

    misterwhois Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Hai Mr MudCrab


    I'm struggle :doubt: to load Dual boot Win7 as well as Mac leopard in my laptop .., can anyone help me and post step by step how to install both OS


    ;)
    Thanks in ADVANCE
    :) ;)
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    misterwhois,

    I don't have any experience with Leopard other than it sometimes being in certain multi-boot setups I've helped repair (in Acronis OSS, for example).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.