OK to remove all inet filter rules?

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Eliot, May 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    I am behind a router with a firewall built into it. It is a wireless network that has the broadcast turned off with a 128bit security key using WEP. I have the router set to only allow login from my pc's MAC/IP as well. I am about 99% sure that no one can hack this router since the SSID is renamed as well.

    With all that said, is it ok to remove all internet filtering rules from LnS? o_O This would make the LAN trusted I know, but I have also have an AV with proactive defense. Any current users with this kind of setup, or any LnS guru with knowledge, can you please lend me your thoughts on this?

    Regards,

    Eliot
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    some packets are bound to slip through the router/firewall, so id keep the rules in place.

    i also dont know of any benefit to deleting the rules in the first place.
     
  3. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    I get loads of errors in the log with the rules enabled. Only way to stop the error is remove the rules or try to setup the rules to work with a router which never seems to work.
     
  4. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Eliot

    Well there is usually a reason for errors.
    There are other ways, could either disable logging or do not read the logs. :)

    Take care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  5. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Disabled logging. Will post back if any problems arise. Funny how the simplest options somehow never come to mind.

    Thanks TheQuest

    Regards,

    Eliot
     
  6. Kush

    Kush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Montreal,Canada

    Hello Eliot,

    Not sure if you are still having problems setting up your wireless router with LnS? But this is what you need to download below or your WiFi connection won't work correctly or at all.

    *Secured WiFi connection
    *PluginEditRule.dll

    And then it will work with no problems

    Good Luck :)
     
  7. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Thanks, I had given up on getting it to work properly, lol. If you can post the links please, I'll give those a shot. Thanks again.

    Regards,

    Eliot
     
  8. Kush

    Kush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Montreal,Canada

    Hello Eliot,


    Sorry about that:oops: ! Here they are you really should give it one more try.One is a rule you put into your rule-set and the other is a Plugin called PluginEditRawRule.dll which you put inside your
    Soft4ever>Look"n"Stop folder.And go to the advanced tab [options in LnS] and turn it on from there. That's about it.And setting up the security enabled
    wireless connection which you already know about,and some router settings
    need to be enabled on pinging to make LnS more secure.


    http://www.looknstop.com/En/rules/rules.htm#Partage

    Download page for WiFi

    http://www.looknstop.com/En/plugin.htm

    PluginEditRawRule.dll

    And if you need any more help in setting up WiFi just ask,Good Luck :)
     
  9. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Kinda late here and post-beer:30 time as well. I have them dl'd and will give it a shot after work tommorrow. Many thanks for the links, info and help Kush.

    Regards,

    Eliot
     
  10. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Seems to be working fine now. Thanks again.

    Regards,

    Eliot
     
  11. Kush

    Kush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Montreal,Canada
    Hello Eliot,

    Your very welcome :) , and if you want to pass on-line security tests,like GRC.com was able to ping me until I turned on Firewall > WAN Ping Blocking in the router and now it passes every time,but when WAN Ping Blocking was disabled in the firewall router I was not getting true stealth and GRC was able to ping me every time!

    Firewall > WAN Ping Blocking

    "ADVANCED FEATURE! You can configure the Router not to respond to an ICMP Ping (ping to the WAN port). This offers a heightened level of security."


    And that's all I needed to pass all on-line scans.Glad you got WiFi working with LnS take care.:)
     
  12. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Yep, I turned that ping response off the day I installed the router. :D
     
  13. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Is there a link to download the standard ruleset as it was when LnS was first installed? Or could someone upload it please? Thanks.

    Regards,

    Eliot
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.