ohci 1394 Bus Reset Sequence Error

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by 4ln75Z5a, Sep 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 4ln75Z5a

    4ln75Z5a Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    ohci1394_0 self ID received outside of bus reset sequence

    I keep getting this error when booting from the Boot CD of Disk Director. After choosing to boot into DD (both regular and safe mode) and after a few seconds, it displays this error, and then a few seconds later, says it can't read from sector xxx of drive xx. I click Ignore All, and after a few seconds of scanning the partitions, it hangs up and never boots into the GUI of DD.

    My setup is as follows:

    2 80g sata drives connected to two seperate sata ports (both NTFS partitioned). The first has XP installed, the second is empty waiting to hold Vista.

    1 80g IDE drive connected as Primary Master
    1 650g IDE drive connected as Primary Slave

    1 650g firewire external hard drive (turned off during the booting process)

    How can I get DD to boot? I want to install Vista and I want to make all drives hidden except the second SATA drive.

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2008
  2. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Which drive (xx) is the error message referring to? You should run chkdsk /r on the disk with the problem; it either has a bad sector or else there is some other problem with the file system that chkdsk may be able to correct.
     
  3. 4ln75Z5a

    4ln75Z5a Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    I already ran chkdsk /f on all drives. When I disconnect both serial drives, it boots just fine, so it's having an issue with the serial drives, and those are the drives that I need to work with in DD. The ohci1394 error occurs before the partition error.
     
  4. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    chkdsk /f only checks the NTFS file system for consistency. It does not check for bad sectors. I would suggest trying chkdsk /r on the two SATA drives.
     
  5. 4ln75Z5a

    4ln75Z5a Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    I meant /r. I did that. I meant to correct my statement. It's having an issue with the IDE drives NOT the SATA drives. After disconnecting the IDE drives, I still get the "bus reset" error but no partition errors and DD boots fine. What is the issue with the IDE drives that is preventing the boot?
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2008
  6. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Have you tried connecting the IDE drives one at a time to see if the problem is related to one drive or the other?
     
  7. 4ln75Z5a

    4ln75Z5a Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    Yes. It is one drive, but I have done chkdsk /r and it completed successfully. Actually, I did it on all 4 drives. Sometimes, DD reports problems with Disk 1 as well, but all drives check out okay.
     
  8. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    OK; so there is something about that "one drive" that DD objects to. How many partitions are on the drive? By chance, is there a partition that you were not able to run chkdsk /r on; for example, a diagnostic or a recovery partition? If so, the bad sector may be hiding in there.

    I would download the drive manufacturer's diagnostic software and use it to check the drive. It will be able to check in places that Windows can't access. For example, if it is a Seagate drive then download SeaTools. These diagnostic routines are quite complete and some are capable of repairing problems with the drive.
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Does it make a difference if the Firewire drive is not connected when you boot DD?

    For the Safe Mode version of DD, I wouldn't think you'd get the ohci 1394 error. Do you?

    For the Full Mode version of DD, have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.