OFFICIAL RELEASE - Prevx 3.0.5.80 with SafeOnline

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by PrevxHelp, Feb 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello all,
    We're pleased to announce another release of Prevx 3.0 and SafeOnline :) Sorry for the delayed posting of this thread - build 3.0.5.80 should now be available for automatic updates as well.

    To upgrade manually on 64bit PCs, you'll need to download from our x64 location directly: http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=prevxcsi64

    The changes in this build are:
    - Fixed compatibility with the Google toolbar
    - Fixed compatibility with the Walmart website
    - Fixed protection of configured user credentials with non-alphanumeric characters in them

    Please let me know what you find! Thanks, as always, for the testing! :thumb:
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks Joe! Hope you are doing well and not over worked?

    Cheers,

    TH
     
  3. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Google Toolbar is working great! :thumb:
     
  4. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    Thanks Joe!!
    running without any problems here

    best regards
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
  5. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi Joe,

    Everything is working great as far as to all of the real time protection of this release. I do however have one problem with the manual scans. Whenever I try to do an advanced full scan, only 6,000 to 7,000 files are being scanned (should be between 150,000 and 200,000 depending on which of my machines). Any ideas? Thanks a lot as always...
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The scans within Prevx intelligently detect what files are most likely to affect your PC, rather than scanning every file on disk. This allows us to save the user a lot of time/resources with the improved scan speed, and, in the odd chance that a file does try and load that wouldn't have been scanned already, it will be automatically added to future scans and will be scanned as it loads.

    If you are clicking the "Full Scan" option within the Advanced Scan tool, could you let me know if you're also checking the "Use Smart Scanning to improve speed" box? This could result in the lower number of files being scanned.
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    ;) Doing well - and I haven't forgotten about your email either. The changes are half done and will be completed in the next half hour or so :)
     
  8. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Actually, this bug is still there in 3.0.5.80.

    i.e. if i protect pling.man (with a decimal point) at one website, it is not protected from begin entered at any other website. (I'm using Firefox).
     
  9. Zorak

    Zorak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    Australian Capital Territory
    I've upgraded to 3.0.5.80 and my credentials are still not being protected either. I get no protection at all, even with all alpha or all numeric passwords. I am using PSO free and Prevx paid on XP SP3 with IE8. I use a LUA with SRP and no other realtime security programs are running. Credential protection doesn't work when running as Admin either.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hey not a problem! I wanted you to just pass down it the line!;)

    TH
     
  11. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi Joe,
    I understand this that the regular "quick" or "deep" scans intelligently select which files to scan. I have no problems with this.

    I am selecting the "full" scan under the advanced scan section and I am not selecting the "smart scan" option. This is where I am having the problem. On all previous builds, doing this has always resulted in a "full" scan thus scanning all of my files. I like to do this once a month to do a thorough scan. With this build however, the "full" scan scans even less files than the "deep" scan. This is the problem I am having with this not functioning the same as it has on all previous builds.
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi Kent,

    I tried it on my machines one is XP Pro SP3 32bit and Win 7 32bit and full scanning works fine for me! Maybe you can try and UnInstall reboot and download http://info.prevx.com/downloadcsi.asp and reinstall to see if that helps? Make sure you have your key handy after the learning scan!

    TH

    EDIT: @Joe: Can I send you another scan log file it still takes 6 mins to do and scan with allot of , [UP], [UN], [UPN], [D], [DP], [DPN], [DN] files listed!

    And these:

    Previously Detected Files:

    c:\users\daniel\downloads\yy-2.1.5.exe [PX5: 62FA395400C46155E8D2443CAB77650012B04B43] Malware Group: Medium Risk Malware
    c:\users\daniel\downloads\ppnettv_2.1.15_ch_setup.exe [PX5: 35BC3C359063FE5903A527786E6EA700860DFFC2] Malware Group: Medium Risk Malware
    c:\users\daniel\downloads\yy.exe [PX5: 72BADF6600F8ECA4A0E7432D9D47FD00F3BAFA05] Malware Group: Medium Risk Malware
    [D] c:\users\daniel\downloads\photo.exe [PX5: 4B3671FF00FB8A21DE6802E58F92E5002419AEF7]
    [D] c:\users\daniel\downloads\1.exe [PX5: 62F712E450B4B042655700BEEFC850008D1E829D]
    c:\users\daniel\downloads\especial.exe [PX5: 394E1276732047A2435703CB5A58EC003416D6BE] Malware Group: High Risk Cloaked Malware
    [DP] c:\users\daniel\downloads\siw(2).exe [PX5: 9E47F2DD00F5E78EA2F817D6371AB100FF462100]
    [D] c:\windows\installer\msi9b86.tmp [PX5: D9C98BE500AEFCC570E901BE4C3FC6001EDE4437]
    [D] c:\windows\installer\msib45a.tmp [PX5: FC5402D100149AB3D09301F51E9B0700DE9785E9]
    [D] c:\windows\installer\msic493.tmp [PX5: 7CC89C25001EDBF6F00500C89E2AC400B1A2D5A3]
    [D] c:\windows\installer\msid194.tmp [PX5: 99FBA06E0001B3D640AD014D230C86004F1DF57A]
    [D] c:\windows\installer\msi11f3.tmp [PX5: 1499B44C008667CB404101D6CF8CA5002823C282]
    [D] c:\windows\installer\msie6a3.tmp [PX5: DBA7C8B70073069100ED01A640F95A00609F374B]
    [D] c:\windows\installer\msied33.tmp [PX5: 221BC12900E7D0AF40D101CBB84D530069A14DC9]
    [D] c:\windows\winsxs\x86_microsoft-windows-ie-devtools.resources_31bf3856ad364e35_8.0.7600.16385_en-us_7610f6358250fed4\iedvtool.dll.mui [PX5: D7C618D90052CEA2701A0018B6C04900B64FE4D0]

    End of Prevx Scan Log - http://www.prevx.com
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2010
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK


    Yes, please send over another log :) The bad files in that log do indeed look bad, but I'll be able to take a better look with the complete log in hand.

    Thanks!
     
  14. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Is pling.man your username or your password? SafeOnline will protect the "Value to Protect" area, not the "Data Caption" (which is used just for assisting the user.

    If it is your password, however, let me know and I'll see if I can reproduce it (it worked fine for me this last time, but if you could let me know what OS you're on, that will hopefully shed some light on it).
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi Joe,

    I just did a clean install of .83 and it took 1min 43sec so I'm good for now! Just lots of files showing now! Beddy bye for me now!

    TIA,

    TH
     
  16. 800ster

    800ster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    203
    Bit confused on the 64 bit install file. The download links on the Prevx webpages all (inc MyPrevx) have one download file only with description that says 32/64bit. However the first post above says that the 64-bit executable has to be downloaded from that link. Does that mean the ones on Prevx.com are for 32bit systems only or are they single packaged 32/64-bit?
     
  17. mHazweiO

    mHazweiO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    Hi 800ster,

    what you download on the PrevX Homepage is a downloader for the specific program version. The downloader detects the type of OS you use (32 bit or 64 bit) and lets you select the program language. After that it downloads the selected program version and starts the installation process. The link in the first post is probably the file the downloader loads if you select the english 64 bit version.
     
  18. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Exactly :) If a user wanted to manually upgrade before we release the version out to the public for upgrade, they could use that link but otherwise, we've merged all of the downloads into the single location for simplicity - the 32bit installer will download the 64bit program files if it detects that it needs to.
     
  19. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We've just reproduced this and definitely have it fixed in a new build due out within the next couple days.

    Thanks for your patience and help! :thumb:
     
  20. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    It was definitly the "Value" field that I was using that was not being protected.

    Will wait for the new release and test it like mad. :D

    I am using Vista btw.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.