OFFICIAL RELEASE - Prevx 3.0.5.50 with SafeOnline

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by PrevxHelp, Jan 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello all,
    We're pleased to announce another release of Prevx 3.0 and SafeOnline with a number of improvements.

    You can download the 32bit version from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=prevxcsi and the 64bit version from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=PREVXCSI64

    Over the previous live version (3.0.5.40), the changelog is:

    - Fixed compatibility with Adobe PDF printing and creation
    - Improved compatibility with GameGuard
    - Improved printer compatibility
    - Fixed support of Youtube/flash videos on IE/FF
    - Fixed some issues handling certain UAC settings under Win7 x64
    - Fixed user switching under x64 and into certain standard user accounts on Windows 7
    - Fixed an issue using "Run As" when currently on a secured browser instance
    - Fixed an issue typing into some applications with active secured sessions open
    - Fixed a compatibility issue between the low-level audio interfaces and x64 self protection within Prevx
    - Fixed some issues with partial integrations of Chrome/Opera on x64
    - Improved browser memory protection on x64
    - Improved browser component management on x64
    - Fixed an issue displaying the proxy configuration dialog at the end of an aborted learning scan
    - Implemented transparent proxy detection and automatic setting application
    - Improved the on-installation user experience when a proxy is installed and Prevx can detect the proxy
    - Fixed compatibility with CA's hooking within the browser
    - The scan is no longer automatically aborted when the window is closed

    Please let me know if you find any issues or have any questions! Thank you, as always, for your testing and assistance! :thumb:
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2010
  3. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    After installing it says Release Candidate.
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Did you have the RC installed already? And clicked on Check For Updates or did you download from Joe's link? Because mine still says RC but I clicked on Check For Updates!

    TH
     
  5. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I had the same problem. It seems to occur when Prevx uses it's internal update function to install the latest version. Uninstalling the beta/release candidate version, then downloading and manually re-installing the latest version from the link PrevxHelp posted will fix the problem.

    :)
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Great work Joe. SafeOnline continues to make me a strong believer in it.:thumb:
     
  7. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi Joe,
    I am still having this issue that I reported with the first SafeOnline 64 bit RC.
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    Hello Joe, I uninstalled the old build .48 (to get rid of the 'release candidate' writing, thx for the tip! :) ) and installed the new .50 from scratch and even rebooted. I wonder now if something has changed in the protection from screen grabbing attacks?

    I am running Prexv/SafeOnline (fully registered) with default parameters and noticed that Hypersnap now isn't stopped from making pictures when I have secure site or www.prevx.com open (both configured to maximum, should preventing that, correct or not?).

    So my question: is Hypersnap (and other similar software?) now deliberately excluded for better user experience or is that protection feature maybe simply broken somehow? - In short: Where is the black screen? :D
     
  9. regular

    regular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    I am currently using Opera 10.10 and I have not noticed any safeonline icon while I am browsing. I have tried using Chrome as well and nothing is there either.


    However firefox is working. Does this mean opera and chrome support is not in this version yet?
     
  10. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    If this is the "official" version, where is the blue screen? Has went back to black even after a reboot. o_O?

    EDIT: Problem bugged me and then I thought this has happened before. The FIX: After uninstalling/reinstalling got the blue screen back. Was running 3.0.5.40 and thought installing on top would do the trick, but no. Blue screen back and I'm happy. :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2010
  11. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Downloaded the new version and running Firefox (version 3.5.7). To quote President Teddy Roosevelt..."Bully!"...:thumb: :cool:
     
  12. 800ster

    800ster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    203
    Still got the problem printing from Firefox ("Unexpected error") with this latest release. Have tried turning down HTTPS default setting from maximum to high as suggested before and this again does not help.
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Opera and Chrome are supported only under 32bit OS's - is it possible that you have an x64 OS?

    Thanks for the information! :)
     
  14. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We're investigating this now and should hopefully have a solution shortly :)
     
  15. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    Hii Joe:)
    just updated my software to .50:)
    no issue's, the new version running smootly here
    everything works great here:)
    keep it up this excelent work!!:D

    Best regards
     
  16. guest

    guest Guest

    @all: I wonder if all you people - posting 'all is great' - are really trying and testing things or if you are just happy so to speak if there is no BSOD involved? ;)

    To get to the point:

    Is there anyone getting the 'black screen' (screen grabber protection) with .50 when using screenshot program (like for example hypersnap) together with for example www.prevx.com or any https website when SafeOnline is ON (and default maximum setting in place of course)?

    I don't and I wonder about that. And since Joe didn't say a word to my question I am now asking the other users of Prevx to test this, confirming or not. - Thanks in advance.
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I think you only get the black screen if you have an active infection on your machine that requires you to do a scan and clean up with Prevx! I don't think it has anything to do with screen grabber protection because I get a message asking to override or not with HoverSnap!

    TH
     
  18. guest

    guest Guest

    Thanks for the feedback. :)

    Sorry, but this *isn't* the case for sure! At least it wasn't in all versions before. And there is nothing in the changelog that says otherwise. So I guess, no I am sure :) ... you have the wrong impression about that.

    Well, of *course* it had to do everything and ONLY with the screen grabbing protection (the black screen I had in all versions before, in the last ones sometimes not which always raised my suspicion it could be somehow broken or whatever) and btw I just tried 'HoverSnap': The reason why you are getting this message is you have to press the print button. But you don't need to use 'HoverSnap' at all for that, such screenshot function is implemented in windows and you start it with this 'print' button, no need for other software.

    And I know already that if you are pushing this button you get this prevx window (asking for allowance). This is part of the screen grabbing protection. - But I don't use this method (or this print key) because there is much better software out like Hypersnap, Snagit etc. - The thing is ... before this newest version .50 there was always this black screen and so I knew:

    -> Prevx SafeOnline Maximum was working fine (or not :) ). - NOW I AM NOT SURE AT ALL! - Maybe Joe will have his say when he has time for answering. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2010
  19. zach

    zach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    257
    Location:
    Wisconsin,USA
    Do I need to uninstall old version before I can install new version.
     
  20. regular

    regular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Yes you're right, I am using x64 Windows 7. I'll wait for any updates for opera then. Thanks!
     
  21. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Best to play it safe and do an uninstall/reinstall for sure. :)
     
  22. zach

    zach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    257
    Location:
    Wisconsin,USA
    Thanks PatG
     
  23. NBP Pipsquack Bird

    NBP Pipsquack Bird Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Kingdom of NOD
    Why does the Download page on Prevx site still say in small print
    Safeonline is for "32 bit only."

    Is SafeOnline x64 truly Official, or just kinda sorta "offical" ?
     
  24. Doraemon

    Doraemon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    Hopefully we get the solution soon! o_O

    Thanks a lot for listening to the users so much! :cool:
     
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hey Joe maybe you could give us some incite on guest's question?

    TIA,

    TH
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.