# of differentials & full vs. differential backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by albert0346, Aug 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. albert0346

albert0346 Registered Member

Re: Best way to remove old backup files?

Hello,

I'm new to TI and have 2 questions:

1. As I understand it you can have only ONE differential backup at any time. If you create another differential the old one is discarded. But in this thread I've read about many differential backups at any time. How come?

2. Somewhere else in this forum I've read that if you backup your system drive or partition it is almost better to use a FULL backup every time since the system drive or partition changes very often and so the full backup size is almost similar to the full and incremental or differential backups. Do you agree with that?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Albert

2. Tabvla

Tabvla Registered Member

Hello Albert

Welcome to TI and this Forum.

As the subject matter of your post deals with a completely different issue to the original content of this post may I suggest that you start a new thread.

The questions that you have asked are good questions which anyone new to TI may need help with. So a new thread with an appropriate Title may be helpful not only to yourself but other new users.

TiA

3. Detox

Detox Retired Moderator

Agreed; I have pulled these two posts out of the thread they were previously in and made the new thread.

Last edited: Aug 18, 2006
  4. Xpilot

Xpilot Registered Member

1. You can keep as many differential backup images as you want. Thus you could restore to a variety of dates rather that just the latest image. With incrementals all of them plus the base image need to be present.
    At the present time if you delete any of the differentials between the base image and the latest you will not be able to run the additional verification. This quirk is supposed to be fixed in an upcomming build.