OEM Version?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by ronbo613, Jan 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronbo613

    ronbo613 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    North SD County, CA
    There's a pretty good deal on the OEM version of NOD32. Is there anything about an OEM version that would be negative, like not being able to renew subscriptions or anything like that? I figure for that price, I'll just get a product key.
    Been using BitDefender9, it's been good, a little resource heavy, I've been wanting to try NOD32, spread my AV dollars around, keep all the companies in business.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I can't see anything there other than the standard USA pricing for NOD32, $39.99 This is the down-loadable version which is what the absolute majority of people use.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. ronbo613

    ronbo613 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    North SD County, CA
    You have to click on the "Click to see lowest price" which is $24.99USD. I figure that's a pretty good deal.
    I've just read your guide to using NOD32, very nice work.
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I'd say grab it while you can, I can't see Eset being happy with them selling it at that price.

    Thank you, it's pretty comprehensive.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. ronbo613

    ronbo613 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    North SD County, CA
    I would advise caution on this "deal". After several attempts, I am unable to get a password after registering the product on the eset.com website.
     
  6. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    contact Eset directly - or newegg.com customer service for a refund - if they sold you an OEM license that can't be registered, they should replace or refund.
     
  7. ronbo613

    ronbo613 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    North SD County, CA
    I spoke with newegg, pretty sure they will give me a refund, they've always been more than fair in that regard. They sell a lot of OEM software, wonder why this didn't fly?
    It did get me thinking. Since I build my own computers, I've always used OEM operating systems without any problems, this incident will cause me to think a little harder about an OEM copy of Vista.
    Or maybe it's a sign to stick with BitDefender.
     
  8. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Not receiving an actication code from Eset sounds like an Eset problem to me. :doubt:

    For questions with downloading, installing NOD32, username and password, and credit card or payment. By phone +1 619.319.3000, press 2

    If you still can't seem to get it activated maybe Newegg will refund you, and then you can simply purchase the software direct from Eset's website. :)

    OEM operating systems are tied to the pc's that they're installed on and cannot be transferred to new pc. Other OEM software, such as NOD32, is not as restrictive AFAIK.
     
  9. ronbo613

    ronbo613 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    North SD County, CA
    Thanks for that, I received the same number from newegg this morning.
    It's been awhile since I installed some OEM software, my "hoop-jumping" skills might be a little rusty. By the area code and address on the NOD32 packaging, their office is only a couple miles away from me.
    Ahh, the life of a cheapskate............
     
  10. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    ronbo613, are you 100% positive that your Spam filter isn't nuking the email from Eset?
     
  11. ronbo613

    ronbo613 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    North SD County, CA
    Yes, I sent emails via Hotmail and my POP3 addresses. It turns out that eset.com is just a little slow in responding to password requests. I called them this morning and got my password straightaway, by the time I'd hung up the phone, the information was in my mailbox as well. No biggie.
    I'm headed to Blackspear's tutorial to fine tune the settings.
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Good to see that you finally have it sorted.

    Cheers :D
     
  13. ronbo613

    ronbo613 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    North SD County, CA
    Seems to be working great. I had to switch the HTTP Client Compatibility for Firefox from "Higher Efficiency" to "Higher Compatibility" because I noticed that web pages, especially those with a lot of photos and/or graphics, were loading very slowly.
    One question; I don't use MS Outlook, should I unload EMON?
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    No need to, you will not see a difference.

    Cheers :D
     
  15. ronbo613

    ronbo613 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    North SD County, CA
    Yeah, it doesn't look like it's working very hard.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.