Odd problem when trying to open SAS - corrupted programme or virus?

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by bahjan, Jan 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bahjan

    bahjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    U.K.
    Hi,
    I know it's time to update, but I am still running my Win98se laptop and it has been acting oddly for about a week now.

    First here's what's installed:
    Resident: Avast Free, Winpatrol, Kerio FW. FF 2, Macaffe site advisor.
    on demand: SAS - did have A-squared too but new version does not support 98 anymore - any suggestions for a second line scanner would be appreciated.
    Spywareblaster,

    Symptoms:

    When I boot up all seems fine - but sometimes I cannot open an application - Explorer freezes with [not responding] in taskbar. Sometimes Msgsr32 also freezes. At other times applications like FF load but very slowly. Actions do seem to have slowed down lately. At other times Explorer reports an illegal operation and shutting down is the only option.

    I was able to boot into safe mode - so performed Start 'regsvr32 urlmon.dll Enter reoprted urlmon succeeded, but rebooting into normal after seemed to cause the same error.
    I also perfomed a full virus scan in safe mode and Avast found nothing.
    I also ran Stinger.
    I checked for hardware conflicts using Start-run- hwinfo /ul tool. Nothing odd.

    As symptom seemed to occur particularly when I tried to open SAS, I went into msconfig and turned it off in startup menu. Things seem to have improved, but I cannot open SAS anymore. (although Explorer has frozen since). I have noticed that it's taking longer for applications to open. Nevertheless at boot up all apps load and Avast updates automatically as usual.

    I also used Fix-it utilities to rollback settings to time before the problem, but Explorer still freezes when I try to open SAS.

    Could it be a corruption of the SAS programme? I don't think I was informed of the new update. So should I download a fresh copy uninstall/ reinstall SAS? Should I use the resident uninstaller or Windows add/remove?

    As windows appears to work without SAS loaded, and applications seem to take a while to load, I have considered a virus/malware despite being careful, but Avast and Stinger have found nothing (Cureit on line free scanner is running) I will also install Hijack this and report back if reinstalling SAS has no effect.

    Can anyone suggest any other malware scanner that will work with Windows 98?

    Finally, wonder whether it's a symptom of a dying HD

    Any suggestions gratefully received.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2009
  2. lightning slinger

    lightning slinger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Northumberland, UK
    Hi bahjan,

    I run 98Se and I can confirm that the latest SAS 4.25.1012 does cause problems on 98.

    If you check the posts on the SAS Forum posted in the last week, I think there are three which mention 98 users having problems after updating to version 4.25.1012.

    When I updated to this version SAS took about thirty seconds to open (normally under 5 seconds on my 98SE2ME box) and downloading the defintions update almost caused the PC to lock up.

    The only answer for the moment is to revert back to version 4.24.1004 which does work very well.

    HTH
     
  3. bahjan

    bahjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    U.K.
    Yes,
    Thanks for that - I did discover that latest SAS version a problem for Win 98.

    I rolled back to v 4.24. 1004 (download from hippofiles.com) and barring a few SAS [not responding] task manager messages which 'Crashproof' in Fix-it utilities revived, I installed and ran setup wizard (see below). I am now running a full scan.

    When installing SAS in Win 98 : Bear in mind in Win98se you'll need to switch of 'automatic updates' to prevent programme upgrading automatically. You can do this by unchecking the box during installation wizard or:

    Open the SAS control panel. Go to Preferences and go to the updates tab. Uncheck the "check for program updates when the application starts" box.

    Explorer not responding may have been:

    1. Corruption of old version of SAS or more likely an automatic update.
    2. Installing non responsive update of SAS v 4.25....
    3. Dying HD

    I have done several virus and malware scans Avast/Cureit/CWSShredder/ SAS which have found nothing dire, I await to see whether Explorer is back to normal........

    As I can no longer use A Squared Free or can I still use an old version? What do you think of SBS&D or Spyware Doctor (free) as second string?
     
  4. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi bahjan :)

    Re : SAS and my Laptop

    I've never had any problems with SAS before :)

    Until Yesterday! :rolleyes:
    Double Clicked SAS Desktop Icon .. & .. Woke SAS Up!
    Right Clicked SAS Taskbar Bug Icon .. Clicked - Update
    SAS Updated! :cool:

    However!
    At The End... The Update Box Didn't Show Up o_O

    You Know!
    The one that tells you what it's updated you with .. Then we click - Close
    It Never Showed Up :(

    Waited and Waited .... Nope!

    So I Just Thought...
    Perhaps this is how SAS updates now.
    I Tried Shutting Down - & - Laptop Wouldn't Shutdown :argh:

    1 Min to even start shutting down
    3 Min saying - Logging Out
    10 Min saying - Shutting Down
    In The End... I Had To Do A Forced Shutdown :'(

    I've Updated SAS Today - & - No Problem! :D

    As For Yesterday.. I'm Not Sure What happened! :doubt:

    Note!
    Re : My Desktop Computer
    Haven't updated SAS on my Desktop Computer yet.
    Got enough problems with that computer - & - PC Tools Firewall Plus :rolleyes:


    Laptop & Desktop .. Vista Home Premium 32 bit
     
  5. bahjan

    bahjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    U.K.
    Hi Zeena,

    Glad Vista seemed to accept SAS v4.25 - if the system seems at all flacky and exhibits odd slow down or other symptoms which cannot be accounted for by other hardware/software conflicts, viruses or malware my first suspect would be SAS 4.25 - since I rolled back to the previous version my system seems stable again and I've fixed my shutdown hang problem (see my thread ' Win 98/ME freeze and shutdown'- software issues ). don't know if it would apply to your shutdown issue - but might give a clue!

    bahjan
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2009
  6. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi bahjan :)


    Both my Desktop and Laptop are behaving - Flaky :rolleyes:
    Desktop ... Been developing strange little problems for the last 5 months.
    Laptop ... Always Been Flaky! -- Although I think Naughty Norton doesn't help :mad:
    However!
    As it's only the Free version of SAS that I have ( Set Not To Start Up With Windows )...
    I'm 100% certain SAS isn't the problem ;)

    SAS seems OK again now :cool:
    Although I haven't tried updating today.
    Had enough of updates for one day... With Net Framework Update :rolleyes:

    Re : My problem with SAS the other day
    Maybe I just had a dodgy update.
    Or maybe Naughty Norton 09 tried to grab it :doubt:
    I Haven't Got A Clue!


    Glad You Also Managed To Get Sorted ;)


    PS.
    I'm A COLOURFUL TABS FAN TOO! :D
     
  7. bahjan

    bahjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    U.K.
    Hi Zeena,

    I struggled with Norton Internet Security for years - I annually had to reinstall windows because of the problems it caused. Once my sub was up I dumped it completely and now run Kerio Firewall (version 2.1.5. doesn't have the nag screen added since Sunbelt took it over). Not only did my poor old Win98 laptop bootup at lightning speed (compared to pre NIS uninstall :D ) but I've not had to reinstall windows again. Uninstalling Norton completely (it leaves stuff behind all over the place) can be time consuming, but I have never regretted it.

    I have a great utility called Fix-it Utilities - once free but now not - it has various diagnostic, clean up, and backup programmes which have saved me on more than one occasion. It may help diagnose your system software/hardware. I run the old version 4 which is fine for me - (It runs fine on an XP Pro) and as long as you custom install and don't install Antivirus and online emergency help sections - you have a miriad to tools. The only one I avoid is jet defag as it crashed my system once (though I think that might have been down to Norton screwing my system):

    I think there are newer paid versions of Fix-it by VCOM/Avanquest - but I have never used or seen them to know how similiar they are. Sometimes when a good thing gets taken over, it's never as good again......o_O
    Cheers!:)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.