OA3 free and Avira

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Hugger, Oct 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    They both have a Webguard of some type.
    I read somewhere that one should be deactivated.
    If that's true, which one?
    I'd like to try OA3.
    Thanks.
    Hugger
     
  2. Murderlove

    Murderlove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    99
    Hi Hugger,

    It depends; I too have both OA and Avira. In my case the webguard of Avira slows down my browsing/download speed tremendously. The webguard of OA does not slow down my browsing/download speed.

    I think I have read some reports where it stated that the webguard of OA caused slowdowns. So you should check it yourself since it is different for every system. In my case I disabled the webuard of Avira and left on the webguard of OA.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2008
  3. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Try both and take your pick which one works better/faster/whatever for you? ;) And yeah, having both enabled is bad.
     
  4. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Therefore I have both disabled and use Sandboxie and FF with NoScript instead.
    I never use a Web AV as it always slows things down.
    And OA's Web-Shield is pretty useless for me, as I am not using IE and don't care about endless ActiveX warnings.

    Cheers
     
  5. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    Thanks for your help.
    Just found out that OA3 free doesn't have Web Guard or Mail Guard.
    Problem solved.
    Hugger
     
  6. chris2busy

    chris2busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    not the free version of it...glad it works for you mate :)
     
  7. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    It was worth trying but it didn't work out.
    The combination of OA, TF, DW, SP and SD was too much protection for my pc.
    The system froze and had to be hard booted a number of times.
    But that's why I've got SP.
    Hugger
     
  8. chris2busy

    chris2busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    Even if it didn't froze..At the first site of a critical event(e.g malware) that flood of responces and alarm triggering plus all products trying to half malicious action..that would crash it definately.work it till you find the mix is best with you :)
     
  9. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    I'm staying with what I had before trying OA3. My signature.
    The all work smoothly together.
    When DW introduces their outbound protection I hope to be able to lose PCTF.
    Regards.
    Hugger
     
  10. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hugger:

    Best to have only one of these tools at a time AND set the exclusions up so the ones you do have mutually exclude each other.
    Example, I have OA V3 and Nod32 and have set them to NOT protect each other.

    Remove TF.

    1 2 way FW, eg OA 3
    2 1 HIPS in paid for me that is also OA
    3 1 AV that is Nod32
    4 1 ASW that for me is SAS
    5 I also have Spyware Blaster which plays well with the rest.
    6 FF not IE

    Then you should be good to go!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.