O ye who loves NetVeda Safety.Net

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by no13, Mar 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    I have a problem.
    A big problem.

    When I run the firewall, it BLOCKS ALL ACCESS by default [sometimes even those explicitly allowed]
    I have to PAUSE(allow all) and RESTART its service to get it to work. I have to do it after every restart. Sometimes twice in a session.

    My non-administrator account holders CANNOT see its administration scree/menu... so they cannot do anything about it and are simply "disconnected".

    On the official forums : http://forums.netveda.com//index.php?act=ST&f=5&t=45 ... hasn't really been answered.

    I've liked it so far... passed all known leaktests including PCAudit2 [except wallbreaker, mbtest and outbound which my windows seems to have some issues ]

    UI is slightly heavy, but otherwise ok.

    Help appreciated.
     
  2. Arup

    Arup Guest

  3. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Arup...

    problem fixed

    needed to unblock explorer.exe

    Thx for your help.
     
  4. Hi no13....did i get it right this time....he he
    i thought you had seen the rule set I use....
    Here's a handy little tool for all you FW experimenters.
    http://www.larshederer.homepage.t-online.de/erunt/
    When you have everything running great, do a back-up of your registry before
    going on further. It just takes a second.
    I'm on a stand-alone PC, Dsl, with XP home SP2, and all un-needed ports and
    services closed. Here are the basics, of how I set up my machine to beat the
    leak tests.
    Groups.......group type drop down....application...new....group name...type in
    Exporer......find windows explorer...click blue down arrow...save.
    Security.....Advanced Internet Firewall..Direction..Both.....Rule...Deny
    Service..All....Application...Explorer....local and remote network ..
    All...Click Add button...and Save.
    App Trust...iexplorer ...ask
    Spooler Subsystem app..............................NO
    General host process for Win32 Services........NO
    Firefox....................................................YES
    Windows explorer......................................YES
    Security apps...........................................YES or ASK
    Upper left corner....Check Show components
    Microsoft C++ Runtime library.......................YES....click Save
    The save and apply buttons are very important and easy to miss buttons.
    Reply With Quote
     
  5. oops forgot to add it againOOOOPS ....forgot to add, under trusted apps

    Services and Controller app.........YES
     
  6. OKAY....glad you got it......now you should pass all the leak tests

    Wow am I wired.....slow at work...and a pot of coffee in me already....

    gonna be a long long day.
     
  7. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    hey thanks JW!
    that was very VERY insightful of you ;)
    one more thing.
    <<SIGN UP HERE OR ELSE... THE BOOGEYMAN WILL COME AND START DOING THE BOOGIE>>
    :D:D
    www.roboform.com is a personal favourite. Now I have 16 character random passwords 4 everything :D:D
     
  8. Arup

    Arup Guest

    no13 and JW, one question to you both, what anti virus are you guys using with NetVeda?
     
  9. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Me? I'm trialling both NOD32 and McAfee [local magazine cd featured these and I was reinstalling.]
     
  10. Arup

    Arup Guest

    WOW! that was a fast reply, the reason I asked was because NetVeda and Avast Web Shield has an issue, at least on my machine, one of the reasons I would get reboots regularly with NetVeda on my machine.
     
  11. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    NO... YOURS was a fast reply ... 1 min!!!!
     
  12. Arup I use Nod32 real time.....Bit defender on demand

    I sometimes run Ewido and MS antispy realtime with it...

    Ive tried it with different combos...Prevx, Regdefend, SSM, Unhackme, and maybe a few others....seems to play nice with all of them.

    Right now on my tray ...I have PG...Nod32...NetVeda and I'm trialing SafenSec.

    I think my final set up witll be ....PG..Nod32 and Netveda Tray
    SB and Regprot and both types of Vbs defenders background.

    I have all sorts of speciality tools and scanners to play with at slow times.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.