NTLM authentication

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by nubdonut, Mar 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nubdonut

    nubdonut Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    Hi guys,

    Prior to ERAC/ERAS 4.x, I was able to use NTLM authentication for client updates.
    Since the upgrade, all my clients are unable to update using NTLM.
    I believe 4.x is using NTLM v2.

    ERAS/ERAC: v4.0.138
    NOD32 client: v4.2.58.3

    Do I need to input domain name in the username in the client side?
    Or is there anything that i missed out?
    Currently falling back to basic authentication.
     
  2. nubdonut

    nubdonut Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    Anyone can shed some light?
     
  3. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    NTLM v1 vs v2 is more a function of the OS you are using. If you're using 2003 then by default it is doing everything with NTLM v1. If it is running on a 2008 system then you can always configure it to accept NTLM v1 and use v2 if negotiated.

    And yes, the username credentials need to either be [domain]\[user] or [host]\[user] depending on if you are using an account that is on the domain or local to the update host.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.