"NTLDR missing" during reboot to Vista x64 snapshot.

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Minimax2000, Aug 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Minimax2000

    Minimax2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Hello everyone

    I spent some time yesterday trying to install Vista x64 Home Premium.
    I created an empty snapshot under Windows XP and installed Vista into it.
    Under Vista I then installed FD-ISR (Latest Build 233) and created an archive of the Vista snapshot afterwards.
    FD-ISR showed the newly created Vista snapshot as active. So far so good.

    After rebooting into my Windows XP snapshot I tried to boot back into my Vista snapshot but got the infamous "NTLDR missing" message.
    By the way FD-ISR displayed under Win XP for the Vista snapshot use a size of 0.0 GByte.o_O

    Finally I checked that the boot order in the bios is correct.

    Perhaps someone can enlighten me and can give me some hints on how to solve this installation problem.:p

    Thanks

    Frank

    I followed exactly these guidelines (found in a different thread at wilders):
     
  2. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    Try this:
    1. delete the two snapshots.
    2. install windows vista first or restore from image if available.
    3. install FD-ISR on vista.
    4. create second snapshot an restore xp archive on it.
    5. boot to xp, install FD-ISR, delete primary snapshot and restore vista archive.
    Hope it works:)
     
  3. Minimax2000

    Minimax2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Hello alloucho

    I will try your suggested sequence as last resort measure and report back.
    I had previously installed Windows XP into an empty snapshot and thought
    the installation of Vista would be as easy as the XP installation. But Vista
    has introduced a new Windows Boot Loader making things more complicated.

    Thanks
    Frank
     
  4. Minimax2000

    Minimax2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Location:
    Switzerland
    The solution :

    The Vista boot mamager and the loader were divided
    among my System partition on drive C: and my data partition on drive D:.

    EasyBCD displayed this configuration:

    Windows Boot Manager
    --------------------
    device partition=D: <------------------
    description Windows Boot Manager
    timeout 3

    Windows Boot Loader
    -------------------
    device partition=C: <----------------------
    path \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    description Microsoft Windows Vista
    osdevice partition=C:
    systemroot \Windows
    nx OptIn


    After unplugging my non-OS drive D: and repeating the installation
    EasyBCD shows this:


    Windows Boot Manager
    --------------------
    device partition=C:
    description Windows Boot Manager
    timeout 30

    Windows Boot Loader
    -------------------
    device partition=C:
    path \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    description Microsoft Windows Vista
    osdevice partition=C:
    systemroot \Windows
    nx OptIn

    This is consistent, both are on the same boot partition now.


    Frank
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.