NoVirusThanks OSArmor: An Additional Layer of Defense

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by novirusthanks, Dec 17, 2017.

  1. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I run windows 7 but not on slow hardware. I also have had MBAM on my system at times and saw no ill effect. But I don't use MBAE.
     
  2. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,771
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I also run Win7 & OSA plus MBAE run quite well together. No slowdown whatsoever. I don't think OSA & MBAE do their things in the same way.
     
  3. loungehake

    loungehake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    Wigan
    To do without OSArmor Anti-Exploit is a small price to pay for being able to use its Main and Advanced protections if the alternative is no OSArmor protection. Just because users of more recent much faster hardware have no issues with OSArmor does not mean that the issue is not present, only latent.

    My final observation is that using slow hardware enables a better subjective appreciation of performance differences. With OSArmor Anti-Exploit not enabled there is a perceptible if minor improvement, especially with web browsers.
     
  4. guest

    guest Guest

    OSA isnt an anti-exploit, it is a post-exploitation software, means it prevents the exploited process to do further damages.
    So using MBAE or HMPA alongside OSA is recommended.

    Now the term "anti-exploit" is used by every vendors as marketing gimmick because most people barely understand the concept.
     
  5. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,437
    Location:
    Land of the Light
    Code:
    https://malwaretips.com/threads/osarmor-vs-malware-roboman.85685/
     
  6. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,600
    Location:
    Italy
    :thumb:;):)
     
  7. loungehake

    loungehake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    Wigan
    I am not sure if I understand the concept but thank you for that insight. I now better understand what is lost by my measures to prevent OSArmor from hanging the system, i.e. disabling OSArmor's Anti-Exploit. I imagine that Main and Advanced protections are more valuable than Anti-Exploit in its OSArmor context so it is a no-brainer to compromise. OSArmor works great with Windows XP and 8.1 with all protections enabled. I have my doubts about deploying it to Windows 7 users because I am convinced that what I imagine is a timing flaw exists with the OSArmor/Windows 7 combination which normally only becomes apparent with slow hardware. I am wary that such a timing issue could occur if only very infrequently and so cause problems for my user friends and relatives who use reasonably fast hardware.

    The two Windows 7 systems I have which are sensitive to hanging with OSArmor are powered by AMD Sempron 3000+ (1.8Ghz, single core) and a Intel Pentium 4 Prescott (3.2Ghz, dual core) processors. The Sempron, much the slower of the two, hangs much more readily then the Pentium. To me this is further evidence that a timing flaw exists within OSArmor which is sensitive to the speed of the processor. I must be the only user in this forum thread who uses such slow hardware.
     
  8. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    USA
    No problems here with OSA 1.4 on an ancient Windows 7 64-bit laptop w/ 2.2 GHz dual-core Intel T4400, also running WSA but no other realtime security software.
     
  9. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,128
    Location:
    USA
    Definitely have you beat. . . I'm running Windows XP SP3, Pentium 4 here with OSArmor 1.4 -- default settings. It works perfectly. So, as you suggested, it must be a conflict with something else.
     
  10. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,463
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Same here, and with Windows 8.1 again now (runs well on plain Win 8.0) and speaking of ancient how does only 4Gb of RAM sound? It's all this system has to pump out until time another system-lappy can be juiced up with more memory. This user squeezes out all she has to give and OSA just lays silently waiting to snap up anything not locked down but taps tiny bits of energy. (which is a good thing). ERP v4 test 24 onboard too as well as real-time Driver Radar Pro!
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2018
  11. loungehake

    loungehake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    Wigan
    Windows XP is no problem. Windows 7 is. I don't know about Vista. Windows 8.1 has no issues.
     
  12. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,883
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Date/Time: 8/6/2018 4:30:19 AM
    Process: [8208]C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe
    Process MD5 Hash: 5746BD7E255DD6A8AFA06F7C42C1BA41
    Parent: [7456]C:\Users\User\AppData\Local\Temp\{F81A4791-1CEF-4FE2-9ED4-3BC095EB2F3F}\SMInstallerHelper.exe
    Rule: BlockSuspiciousScripts
    Rule Name: Block execution of suspicious scripts
    Command Line: C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe /c ""C:\Users\User\AppData\Local\Temp\{F81A4791-1CEF-4FE2-9ED4-3BC095EB2F3F}\Notification_Area_Cleaner.bat""
    Signer:
    Parent Signer: iolo technologies, LLC
    User/Domain: User/User-PC
    System File: True
    Parent System File: False
    Integrity Level: High
    Parent Integrity Level: High
     
  13. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    USA
    Right now, OSA is using only 1.2 MB RAM and WRSA is using a mere 800 kB, which is good because my total system RAM is only 3 GB (unfortunately non-expandable).
     
  14. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,463
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    That's what's so welcome with NVT apps like this one. They do so much for pc security but also use bare bones energy-resources to accomplish excellent results for users. They are committed.

    @novirusthanks- It was mentioned July as a start for 1.5-any word on how that's coming along?
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2018
  15. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    129
    Location:
    LA
    @novirusthanks- It was mentioned July as a start for 1.5-any word on how that's coming along?

    Can't wait to test out 1.5 also.
     
  16. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,717
    while i agree with what you said, some nvt apps could be merged into a single, compact app.
     
  17. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,463
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Possibly- I read of others suggesting the same-there's plenty more where that came from.

    OSA however likely is not one of them.
     
  18. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,717
    @EASTER
    i beg to differ; osa, erp & sys hardener could be easily merged into a single app.
     
  19. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,381
    Location:
    .
    I only want OSArmor.
     
  20. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,717
    well, the installer could be designed to allow users to install the preferred components. i'm not saying osarmor should be merged with erp completely.
     
  21. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,381
    Location:
    .
    Well, if we're voting. I'll vote for discrete installer.
     
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,344
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    +1
     
  23. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,771
    Location:
    Hawaii
    +1myriad
     
  24. loungehake

    loungehake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    Wigan
    I'm still mithering on about OSArmor and Windows 7. I had been setting Google Chrome to use Strict Site Isolation and enabled that experimental feature since Meltdown and Spectre became public knowledge in January 2018. I just wondered if that might have caused the system hang issue with OSArmor. I have now disabled Strict Site Isolation and have noticed no difference when using the Tencent Spectre check on Google Chrome, i.e. the Tencent check declares no Spectre vulnerability regardless of whether or not Strict Site Isolation is enabled.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2018
  25. lucidstorm

    lucidstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Poland
    Os armor calling for werfault.exe constantly according to spy shelter, I believe exe radar pro too in test 24 (you can quick verify by installing spy shelter firewall)
    alternate data streams detected in icon.dat belonging to exe radar pro test 24 (removed them and it still works, wonder what that was though)
    whitelisting programs is generally problematic, sometimes u just need to switch off protection - that could be polished, its frustrating. Expanded list of allowed processes, whitelists and perhaps some ''install mode'' in which os armor stays quiet would be nice
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.