Not running on windows vista

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by zopostyle, Apr 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zopostyle

    zopostyle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, I'm running portuguese version of final Windows Vista, and I'm also using NOD32 2.7 it's running normally without any problem. I haven o firewall installed so I unistalled NOD32 and Installed the suite and after my system start and fully configure Smart Security Suite, my system freeze (and I needed to reboot manually the system). I tried to reboot normally and it keeps freezing.
    I'm using Eset Smart Security 3.0.128.0 Beta
     
  2. X3ro

    X3ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Omsk, Russia
    I'm using russian vista ultimate. ESS freeses the install but after all it works pretty fast
     
  3. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Instead of a freeze, I get a blue screen each time on Vista. Hope this is fixed in the next beta.
     
  4. Najmi

    Najmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    hi i am using it on Vista english without any issus here, its extreme smooth
     
  5. Pwntje

    Pwntje Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Posts:
    26
    I have the same problem. Cannot get it to work on Vista.
     
  6. marea102

    marea102 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Vista English running very well on my computer, no probs with it so far.
     
  7. raindrop

    raindrop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I am running Windows Vista Enterprise (English)
    Had problems when I ran in Standard user mode (None Administrator user)

    So for now, I switched my user to the Administrators group, until the next version will be released
     
  8. OAKside

    OAKside Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    I wonder how well ESS is playing with Vista's UAC? I am having no problems with ESS and my Vista Business (Eng) but one of the first things I was practically forced to do (to install or run anything with peace) was turn off UAC. It is a real pain in the ass.
     
  9. roaringhere

    roaringhere Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    On the moon
    Maybe the Eset installer should turn off Windows Defender and Firewall before the installation continue in Vista. I guess some people will just install this without realizing they are installing another firewall and anti-virus on what they already have in Vista. So they forget to turn it off and just go on with the installation...
     
  10. mossie

    mossie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    I had a problem when I first installed. I chose "Automatic" during setup and it put my Vista Ult system in such a way nothing worked, no internet, sidebar gone, socket errors etc. Did a system restore, reinstalled and picked "Interactive" now it seems to work fine. Maybe Automatic mode sets rules that don't play well with Vista?
     
  11. TouchuvGrey

    TouchuvGrey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    441
    Location:
    South Mississippi USA ( ya'll )
    Running ESS on Vista Home Premium.
    One of the first things i did after getting
    this machine home was to turn off Windows
    Defender. I'd uninstall it but haven't
    figured out how yet.


    Mike
     
  12. Pwntje

    Pwntje Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Posts:
    26
    I tried the new 1a beta, and it still freezes my PC after ~ 1 min after booting. Vista x86 Dutch is being used.

    I selected Interactive mode.
     
  13. guojc

    guojc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    I have experience both freeze and blue screen on Vista Ultimate Simplified Chinese. Hope it will be fixed on next beta
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.