Not including corrupt files in disk image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by donstim, Dec 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. donstim

    donstim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I have 13 (unlucky number) files on my system (in the "My Documents" folder)that are corrupt. They cannot be opened or deleted. I do not need to restore them. The problem they are causing is that every time they are accessed, such as by my antivirus program or anti-spyware programs, etc, it cause Chkdsk to run on the next bootup. Chkdsk does not fix the corruption problem, but takes time to run.

    My problem appears to be described in the following Microsoft knowledge base article: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/246026.

    The resolution is to back up the volume containing the corrupted files, but exclude the corrupted files from the backup. Reformat the volume, then restore from the backup.

    However, my corrupted volume contains the operating system (WinXP). My understanding is that to keep the operating system (settings and all) intact, I need to create an image backup. But then I cannot exclude any files from the image.

    Is there any way to use Acronis True Image 10.0 to resolve this isue?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    I was going to say no because Acronis simply makes an image of everything.
    But once you have your image you can mount the image as read only or mount in read/write mode. I wonder if you would then be able to delete the unlucky 13
    and then restore from the fixed image ?
     
  3. CatFan432

    CatFan432 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Location:
    Topeka, KS, US
    Long View's suggesting is a good one, making an extra image or a copy of one before trying to delete the files might be a good safety.
     
  4. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    I have just tried this. I remembered that I had an old Norton file in the rubbish bin which I could never get rid of. Unfortunately even now when I mounted the
    image I still could not delete the pesky Norton. will have to take the time to do a full reinstall one day.

    Hope you have more luck.
     
  5. donstim

    donstim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for the suggestions guys. Guess I'll have to wait until I do a reformat and full reinstall (probably when I get Windows Vista).
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    http://ccollomb.free.fr/unlocker/
    Unlocker 1.85

    Ever had such an annoying message given by Windows?

    Cannot delete file: Access is denied
    There has been a sharing violation.
    The source or destination file may be in use.
    The file is in use by another program or user.
    Make sure the disk is not full or write-protected and that the file is not currently in use.

    Unlocker is the solution!
     
  7. donstim

    donstim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks, but this is not a locked file, or one for which there is any kind of sharing issue. It is a corrupted file. None of the file unlockers or file deleters at bootup will work.
     
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Have you tried Unlocker on these corrupted files?

    If not.

    Why not.

    It's not as simplistic a tool as one might think.

    And it's freeware.

    I don't remember Unlocker failing ime.
     
  9. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Thanks zapjb - I tried the program on a couple of old norton files hidden in the rubbish bin. Windows would not remove them because they no longer exist.
    Anyway now they are gone - or at least I can not see them.
     
  10. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Good then Unlocker worked for you. :D
     
  11. donstim

    donstim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I tried it. It did not work. But thanks anyway.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.