Not automatically updating

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Clive T, Jul 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Clive T

    Clive T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    189
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    I realised the other day that my (registered) version of NOD32 hadn't updated itself for a week. A manual update asked me for my password and the prog updated.

    However, automatic updates still won't occur and each manual update asks for my password each time. The server is set to "choose automatically".

    How do I resolve this?
     
  2. mrtwolman

    mrtwolman Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Posts:
    613
    Isn't your licence expired ?
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hello,
    you either have your user/pass entered incorrectly in the update setup panel, or your subscription has already run out. If you copied & pasted the up from the original email you received from Eset and you are sure your license is still good, please contact your local distributor or email support@nod32.com and provide them with a short description of the problem as well as with your user name.
     
  4. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    He said he can manually update. How could he do that if his license has expired?
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I overlooked this info. Clive T, please send the info on installed NOD32 from your CC along with the event log and a short description of the problem to support@nod32.com
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Do you place the Password into the pop-up that asks for it, or do you place the password in Control Panel>Update>update>Setup?

    The second answer is the correct option...

    Cheers :D
     
  7. Clive T

    Clive T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    189
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    ...and that's where it is! It's a new licence, renewed last month.

    I'll contact the distributor and see what he has to say about it.
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Make sure when you copy and paste that there isn't a space at the end of the password, I have seen this happen many a time...

    Once in a blue moon a password goes haywire, in which case the distributor will cancel and reissue.

    Cheers :D
     
  9. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    I have also seen username/passwords that get quirky. Removing the username and password from the Control Center clicking update and then putting them back in has fixed the issue.
     
  10. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I don't have the email, except printed out, that has the password information so I have to type it in after reinstalling NOD32, installing a beta, etc. and I have a tip if you have to do that. Be very careful if there are any 0's and/or O's in your password. I have both next to each other and separately also. It is so easy to get them backwards or type the wrong one. 0 and O look so much alike if you are copying the password. I got them backwards fairly recently when I had to reinstall NOD and trying to change them later to the correct way does not work.

    That popup box doesn't work either. I had to reinstall and make absolutely sure that I was typing them correctly. Postponing putting in user name and password when installing also will not work. You can't successfully postpone. That should be taken out of NOD32. At least any of the times I have postponed putting that information in until after the install was finished, I have had to reinstall. NOD32 is extremely picky about how it wants this information handled. If you humour it everything is perfect...otherwise it gets very grouchy. :p
     
  11. cadmus

    cadmus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    Maui, HI
    When I try manual update, copy and paste doesn't work, I have to type in name and password. Sometimes there is delay between update notice at DSL Reports and my auto so I do manual.

    Is there a way to change these into something easier to remember and type?
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Your Username and Password is CASE SENSITIVE, and as such must be typed in precisely, or copy and past each into:

    Control Centre
    Update
    update
    Setup

    See attached screen shot

    Once entered as described above, it is set and forget, there is no need to re-enter your UN and PW until you renew in the following year...

    You can NOT change your UN and PW, it is allocated by Eset.

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    What do you mean no need to reenter until you renew the following year?! I have to reenter mine everytime I uninstall and reinstall, for whatever reason, or install a beta, or get a newer version from the Eset site, etc. I must have done it a dozen times this year.

    We need to be able to reset the user name and password after the initial use to something we can remember. I have never seen such a convoluted user name and password. :p Plus, in my experience you cannot set it AFTER installing. You can but it won't work. You will have to reinstall and set it during install. If you make a mistake, NOD32 doesn't tell you and you know what happens? You have to reinstall yet again because you typed the username and/or password incorrectly. Of course, you don't know it is incorrect until NOD32 tries to update and if you had uninstalled and reinstalled immediately, you wouldn't have it check for updates then. So, it would be some time before you realized you had typed that wrong.

    I know it has been recommended that we copy/paste from the original email. I don't have the email on my box. I have a print out. Why would I keep that email on my box? I might have to reinstall the OS to fix OE and that could lose it. I never keep important things on my computer.

    So, I think we need a way to change our password ourselves and our user name should be our given name ...not some weird bunch of letters and figures. I have always thought that seems a bit unfriendly and odd.
     
  14. MCT

    MCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    just out of curiosity whats DMON?
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    DMON is in the new Beta, it stands for Document Manager.

    Cheers :D
     
  16. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I haven't had to uninstall and reinstall Nod32 on a single system as many times as you are suggesting, nor have the clients of mine, whom we have installed 500+ copies of Nod32...

    We ALWAYS recommend saving any important emails that you want by clicking on "File\Save As" and pointing the file to be saved to "My Documents". Thus when you back up "My Documents to CD or DVD, you also save a copy of your Nod32 License.

    Cheers :D
     
  17. MCT

    MCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    is the beta out now? if so where do i download it? i havent seen it posted anywhere
     
  18. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    It was supposed to be out a few hours ago, so I would say it will be coming to a town near you today or tomorrow... ;) :rolleyes: :D

    Cheers :D
     
  19. MCT

    MCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Posts:
    300
  20. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    The last beta was available right here at Wilders, from what I understand it will also be available from the USA site.

    Cheers :D
     
  21. MCT

    MCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    can u post the link 2 the thread containing the beta on wilder's plz :)
    i havent seen it,ive checked beta forum & the v2 forum of nod32 section

    thanks again :D
     
  22. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    It has NOT yet been released, it will be soon, and links will then be posted.

    Cheers :D
     
  23. MCT

    MCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    sorry i misunderstood what u had said.. i thought it was already out :p
    regards
     
  24. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    That's ok, I have a pre-release copy, and I'm impressed with it :D

    Cheers :D
     
  25. MCT

    MCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    im intrigued with the thought of the new dmon , is it like WFP ? (Windows File Protection) ? whats its purpose? :p

    regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.