Not at all impressed with version 9.0 2323

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by enduser999, Dec 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. enduser999

    enduser999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    418
    Location:
    The Peg
    On my recommendation a friend installed the 9.0 version of True Image for his old Win2k box. Well after spending 4 hours over at his place last night I am not impressed with the product. It appeared to install ok but we were unable to peform even a simple backup of a 5 meg directory. The product appeared to go through the process but never made it past 1%. As well I came across a post on this forum that the user account that Acronis TI was being run under needed to be a member of superusers i.e. Administrator as well as the Backup operators. Is this indeed the case and if so why is the group membership in BAckup operators not automatically created during the installation procedure?

    After spending the 4 hours uninstalling and resinstalling the product and gave up and unistalled it. At least I think it is completely uninstalled. Even that process did not go too smoothly. I came across this post https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=376168&postcount=13

    indicating how to manually remove all traces of Acronis TI. Is this the correct procedure and if so what exactly is meant by "Delete Acronis Secure Zone either through the wizard or manually;"

    If the product was apparently uninstalled via the control panel add/remove option how is the above step doable??
     
  2. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    The Secure Zone is a part of the hard drive that is reserved for the backup images. However, if you did not opt to create one when you were installing the product then there is no need to worry about that statement.

    I don't use win2k so cannot comment on the problems you had with TI.

    If you want to backup a 5Mb directory why not just zip it with WinZip and then burn it to a DVD. Or was this just a test directory for testing TI?
     
  3. enduser999

    enduser999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    418
    Location:
    The Peg

    It was part of a test to see if TI could even manage that and it failed the same way when I did a 40GB partition backup.

    Any comment regarding the need to have the use a member of Bacjup Operators group?
     
  4. KennethS

    KennethS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Posts:
    145
    Howdy,

    I will add something, though it is not a direct response to the OP's post...

    I ran V8 with certain problems on a Win 2000 system. Then, I moved to V9 and had significant problems. The support folks worked with me in the course of dozens of exchanged emails all to no avail.

    Then, for reasons unrelated to TI, I decided to re-install Windows on that system. The installation was more than 4 years old.

    After that, I re-installed TI V9, and since that time, it has run flawlessly.

    Of course, one could debate if this points to TI problems, or Windows problems, but either way it was interesting and the clean install of Windows did correct the many problems I had with TI.

    All the best,

    Kenneth
     
  5. enduser999

    enduser999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    418
    Location:
    The Peg
    Well a reinstallation of Windows usually does help since people usually do not wind up installing very much application wise. My friend does not have time which in his case will be several days, to format his hard drive, reinstall all of his applications reconfigure them and hope the heck he can some how restore all of his data.

    The types of problems my friend was experiencing seem to be more prevalent in version 9 than in version 8.
     
  6. lorlas

    lorlas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,
    I had a disaster with TI9-2323 on my W2K system.

    1.) Upgraded from TI8-937 and started using DVD+RW (my usual method).
    2.) All images (full images) verified OK (again my usual method).
    3.) After about 2 weeks I needed to reinstate my Drc_C. None of the image files could be accessed (I had 4 images done over this 2 weeks).
    4.) I had to revert back to my last TI8-937 image and was working again (but with 2 weeks of changes lost).
    5.) I have reverted back to TI8-937 for the time being.

    Question - has anyone had good experiences with DVD+RW reinstates of full images?

    Thanks in advance.
    Lorlas.
    :mad:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.