Not able to install Symantec or see taskmanager

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by jomultex, Dec 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jomultex

    jomultex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Hi guys,

    I have not been able to install Symantec, nor see the taskmanager (Safe mode yes I can run it). I had the antiav_exe.exe virus in my computer I thought I had taken it away but seems not to, however I can not see any entries related to it.


    I have reinstalled the msi.exe file and dll's
    I have run spybot, adaware, ewido and bfu AND still no luck.

    Can someone please help me out?

    Thanks in advance,

    Alberto
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  3. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    It seems that there are some serious problems with your Windows system files.

    No errors regarding run32.dll missing perhaps?

    Perhaps the fastes solution is to backup your data to another disk/media
    and reinstall this system.

    Otherwise i'll expect that you find new problems after every solved one.

    If you can't do this from the windows system itself,
    perhaps you can from a BARTPE cdrom.

    Or perhaps try to do a repair install, but be carefull with that,
    if you are running XP make sure to backup your documents and settings.
    ETC. ETC. !

    Backup your email settings by export the data from the registry
    if you are using a kind of outlook version.
    and backup you email.

    If you are not sure, ask before you start, you can loose data this way.
    But only a new install can give you a system back that you can use.

    sorry ..
     
  4. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    @ snowbound:

    This story of Winston Churchill has really happend:

    Churchill was speeching, when a older woman in the audience
    shouted: "if you where my husband, i would add poison to your food".

    Churchill immediately replied: "And if you where my wife, i would eat it"

    :D
     
  5. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    lol,

    not surprised, sounds like a classic Churchillism. :D ;) :D



    snowbound
     
  6. jomultex

    jomultex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Hey guys,

    This is what I did: I figured I could install an older Symantec -Antivirus- version (8.0), in Safe Mode I downloaded the most current deff and installed them using the Intelligent updater. Run a complete scan and found a couple of bangle viruses. got rid of them. I will install the newer version of AV later on.

    Now everything seems back to normal.

    Thanks,
     
  7. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    If i was you, i would do that ASAP.

    And scan with some more Anti Malware products.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.