NoScript (FF add-on): "Allow sites opened with bookmark" - Works on FQDN, not domain

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by VanguardLH, Nov 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. VanguardLH

    VanguardLH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Posts:
    96
    Firefox 16.0.2
    NoScript 2.6.1
    Windows XP Pro SP-3

    Option: "Allow sites opened with bookmarks"

    Well, to a newbie like me, that means NoScript would allow scripts coming from the domain (site) if it was loaded using a bookmark from within Firefox. Doesn't work that way. Instead it uses the URL protocol (HTTP) added to the domain string in the bookmark. A bookmark like domain.com gets saved in NoScript's whitelist as http://domain.com, not as domain.com. If a hostname is given in a bookmark, like hostname.domain.com then NoScript will add http://hostname.domain.com to its whitelist and not http://domain.com or just domain.com.

    I can manually add domain.com so THAT is what gets put into NoScript's whitelist. Obviously that would obviate the convenience of the "Allow sites opened with bookmarks" option (so there would no point in enabling this option or even having this option in the add-on). I cannot remove the URL protocol (HTTP:// or HTTPS://) from a bookmark because NoScript is going to add to its whitelist what URL gets used in the web browser's address bar, not what was specified in the bookmark. If the bookmark has domain.com, NoScript gets http://domain.com from the address bar instead of saving just domain.com to its whitelist. For the "Allow sites opened with bookmark" option, I want that site's domain added to NoScript's whitelist, not the URL protocol (HTTP:) and not a particular hostname there. If a bookmark contains the following, shown is what I want NoScript to add to its whitelist:

    bookmark = http://host.domain.tld
    whitelisted = domain.tld (not http://host.domain.tld)

    bookmark = host.domain.tld
    whitelisted = domain.tld (not http://host.domain.tld)

    bookmark = domain.tld
    whitelisted = domain.tld (not http://domain.tld)

    For a bookmark, whether it has the URL protocol or specifies a hostname, I want NoScript to whitelist the domain without the URL protocol and without a hostname. I want the domain to get whitelisted. Is this possible or is it a continued limitation of the NoScript add-on?

    Until this gets fixed or there is a workaround, it appears that I have to disable the "Allow sites opened with bookmark" option, walk through every bookmark (I have 250+ of them organized in tree hierarchy), and use the "S" add-bar icon to manually select the "Allow <domain.tld> option. What a pain.

    This option (if it worked on the domain instead of protocol, hostname, and domain) isn't exactly what I want since I'd rather temporarily allow within a web browser session instead of always allow. Yet, it would still be handy to have the add-on whitelist by domain.tld only (not by protocol, hostname, and domain) the bookmarked sites.
     
  2. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
  3. VanguardLH

    VanguardLH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Posts:
    96
    I registered in those NoScript forums, got the e-mail to click the link to complete the registration, but the idiots over there won't let me post. Why? Because some inane anti-spam filter doesn't like something in my proposed post but won't identify what it is. Duh, real stupid! Oooh, it looks like spam so they won't accept but it's a secret what they thought was spam. If that is what they believe makes for a good forum then I have to wonder about the quality of the code in the NoScript add-on.

    Their phpBB forum software does have the option enabled where users can click on a triangled "!" icon to report a post to the admins or moderators. Guess they don't use that since it would require the admins or moderators to actually do the moderation of posts there. Instead they rely on an ignorant anti-spam filter that generates false alerts along with providing absolutely no clue as to just what it THINKS is spam.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2012
  4. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    It's very simple: Assuming that it was the same text that you posted here, their system thinks that your post is spam because you posted eight times the same URL, something that spammers do to boost their sites on search engines.

    Spam filters use to be heavier with first-time posters.
     
  5. VanguardLH

    VanguardLH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Posts:
    96
    You might be right but it's obvious that you're also guessing. If an anti-spam parser claims that something is spammy in a proposed post then it also knows what it thought was spammy and should show that! My response was basically to show that I can't use their forums. They don't tell me (so I cannot tell you) what they thought was spam. That means I don't know what to change and am not going to waste time guessing at possible sources.

    So, back to the topic, I take it that no one yet responding knows how to get NoScript to work on bookmarks but only on domains instead of hostnames. I couldn't see how to do it so I've had to do the very manual workaround of clicking on all my 250+ bookmarks, add it to NoScript's whitelist (i.e., click on "Allow <urlstring>"). I was hoping to avoid all that manual and lengthy labor by using the "Allow sites opened with bookmarks" option.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.