Norton Security Scan

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Windfresh, Oct 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Windfresh

    Windfresh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    86
    Hi guys,
    I have just downloaded and installed Adobe Shockwave Player 11.0.0.465 and Adobe suuggested Norton Security Scan as a makeweight for Shockwave.
    I googled and found out that Norton Security Scan is a part of Google Pack, but Google asserts that " Norton Security Scan
    Detects and eliminates viruses and internet worms
    Free detection updates and scheduled scanning" http://pack.google.com/intl/en/pack_installer.html , but in the version I installed it only detects, but does NOT eliminate any malware.OK, a good scanner might be a nice addition in order to know what is going on on the computer, but Norton Security Scan turned out to be intrusive-I can't stop updating process every time I get on the net.
    What's your opinion, should I remain NSS on my PC or just uninstall it? It freezes all the time and despite the fact that I am on 512kb/s it always fails to get updated. And why Adobe doesn't indicate that Shockwave is bundled with Norton Security Scan?
    Thank you all for future replies.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2008
  2. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    IIRC you'd need to get rid of the Google Updater thing to stop the updates.
     
  3. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Windfresh :)


    I'm a bit confused :oops:

    Is it the Google Toolbar you've got?
    OR... Google Something Else?

    I've got the - Google Toolbar :)
    But there is No - Norton with it.

    I've got my Norton in the form of - NIS 09
    So...
    I have got a Norton Toolbar .. But it didn't come with Google ;)

    doktornotor said..
    I've got the Google Updater too!
    But as far as I know...
    It's just to keep the Google Toolbar updated to the latest Version.
    Nothing Else!

    In My Opinion...
    The best way to get Google Stuff ... Is Straight From - Google :)

    No Where Else! :(
     
  4. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Incorrect. It updates all the applications downloaded and installed via Google Pack.
     
  5. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi doktornotor :)

    I havn't got the Google - Pack
    Just the Google - Toolbar :)


    Thats Why I Said...

    Then You Only Get... What You want! ;)
     
  6. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Well, as already said, Google Updater updates all applications installed via Google, and not just Google Toolbar. I personally find this thing rather intrusive and annoying and have no use for it.
     
  7. Windfresh

    Windfresh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    86
    Hi friends,
    Thank you all for your replies!

    No, I hadn't installed Google Pack, Norton Security Scan was a makeweight for Shockwave of Adobe. They offer either to install or neglect Norton Security Scan while Shockwave installation. I haven't ever installed Google Pack, though it seems that I have a Google Toolbar either in Internet Explorer or Firefox.
    Norton Security Scan is announced to not have a resident shield, so it wasn't meant to have troubles with other security apps. But it always failed to get updated, so I uninstalled it with Revo Uninstaller 1.75 and then backed the cleaning with Norton Removal Tool. It seems to have gone smoothly.
    You all can verify that Adobe offers their Shockwave bundled with Norton Security Scan now.
     
  8. Windfresh

    Windfresh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    86
    By the by, the version of Norton Security Scan in Adobe Shockwave package only scans, but doesn't eliminate malware.
     
  9. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Windfresh :)

    I'm glad you've managed to sort out your problem ;)

    I really don't like the way these companies try and give you something you weren't counting on :(
    e.g.
    A recent Java Update tried to give me Open Office .. OR .. Something Like That!
    I already have Office 2007
    The Worst Thing Is :mad:
    They almost always.. Have the accept box already - Ticked :rolleyes:
    I Find This Disgusting! :thumbd:
    My eyesight isn't that great. So I find installing stuff stressful as it is.
    To Top It Off...
    I have to remember to look for boxes to untick.
    Otherwise!
    I could Restart my computer... And find just about anything installed :eek:
     
  10. Michael York

    Michael York Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    56

    Hi Windfresh,

    This is Mike from the Norton Authorized Support Team.

    I wanted to clarify for you and everyone else on this thread that the Norton Security Scanner that is either included as an addition to another product or downloaded directly from Symantec will update, scan and remove some infections. Some infections that become deeply embedded into Windows, such as Trojans, are difficult to remove and in those cases, we recommend a re-format and reinstall of Windows for the sake of security.

    The location to re-download the tool, along with instructions is located at the link below:

    Norton Security Scanner

    Also, it is highly recommended that this tool be run in Windows Safe Mode.

    You can also do a search for infections and instructions on how to remove them by clicking on the link below.

    Symantec Threat Explorer




    Thanks,
    Mike
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2008
  11. Windfresh

    Windfresh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    86
    Michael, thank you very much for clarifying the matter :) .
    I was misled by the notification that Norton Security Scan only scans, but not a word was said about eliminating malware.
    Unfortunately, I failed to update virus base -always errors dispalyed, so I uninstalled the NSS.
    Looking forward to seeing its new reincarnations. :)
     
  12. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Hi Mike,
    IMO your advice isn't well matured. Sometimes indeed it will be the best option to re-format/re-install Windows when the PC is infected, but such rude decision depend on several considerations. And it is not just limited to infections by Trojans. From experience I know that most PCs contaminated by malware, Trojans included, can be cleaned in a satisfying and secure way. Only in rare cases your suggestion will be valid.

    Regards,

    Smokey
     
  13. Windfresh

    Windfresh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    86
  14. Michael York

    Michael York Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    56
    Hi Windfresh,

    I appologize that I did not inform you that Symantec Tools are only compatible with Internet Explorer 5.5 or higher (and not IE 8 - since it is still in Beta).

    Therefore, the link should work in IE, if it does not work, let me know.

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  15. Windfresh

    Windfresh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    86
    Hi Michael,

    I have installed new OS , new configuration of software and so on. Norton Security Scan is installed seamlessly, but it ALWAYS fails to get updated. So I can't sacn and use Norton Security Scan. It is a perpetual feature of this programme judging by its performance. Why can't you add the freshiest signature base to the installation file the way Kaspersky Removal Tool and Dr.Web CureIt do it? I DO want to make use of Norton Security Scan, but it is not flawless in its performance and should be improved.
    One more thing-you wrote that Norton Security Scan will remove viruses and trojans, but there is a note on the GUI, that I've got Basic Level of Protection with Norton Security Scan (only detection). If it isn't so, please correct that sentence on the GUI.
    And, do something with those updates-they disattract millions from your products. It's impermissible.
    Thank you in advance for fixing the NSS.:D
     
  16. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    Latest version of NSS (2.0.0.87) working as advertised on my XP Pro SP3 machine. Updates just fine in safe mode with networking. With Norton products achieving the excellent detection rates that they have lately, this is a good free 'second opinion' option.
     
  17. Windfresh

    Windfresh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    86
    Ok, QBgreen,
    But I still wonder whether NSS only detects or even removes malware. They write on their GUI-Basic protection, detection only and Michael, who is a Symantec employee asserts that NSS removes nasties as well. Whom should I believe? :D I can't verify it myself, cause NSS on my PC refuses to update.
     
  18. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.