Norton Power Eraser

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Jose_Lisbon, Jul 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jose_Lisbon

    Jose_Lisbon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    245
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi.
    After installing NPE will it search for updates every time you use it? Or do you have to install every time you want to scan like Dr.Web CurIt?

    Thanks.
     
  2. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Does NPE need installation?. I think it warns you if you are using an old version and suggests you to download the latest one.
     
  3. qakbot

    qakbot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    380
    Power ERASER needs an active internet connection each time it runs. It uses this to check for updates each time, and to check Cloud services like reputation and definitions.

    That being said, if you want to boot from alternative media because your machine is so infected that you dont even trust the MBR, you can use Norton Boot Recovery Tool at http://security.symantec.com/nbrt/overview.aspx?lcid=1033 . This is a bootable CD but you will need a valid Norton license. It has all the network drivers etc and will establish an internet connection to the norton servers.
     
  4. Jose_Lisbon

    Jose_Lisbon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    245
    Location:
    Portugal
    Thanks for the answers.
     
  5. carat

    carat Guest

    What happened? :doubt:
     

    Attached Files:

    • NPE.png
      NPE.png
      File size:
      17.3 KB
      Views:
      1,528
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    seems to be a glitch with version 2.
    I get the same error. it happerned with the beta version and i assumed it would of been fixed. whenever ive run NPE2 and scanned it then wants to send error log because of some issues during it.. guess they shouldnt of released version2 yet.
     
  7. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    I don't bother with it anymore ever since they've removed custom scanning for some retarded "offline OS scanning".
     
  8. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    I dont use it anymore after they removed the custom scan :(
     
  9. carat

    carat Guest

    When will this bug be fixed? :doubt:
     
  10. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Does NPE ask before cleaning suspicious files?
    A user has the opportunity to interact with the program before cleaning, correct?
    And if you had to pick between NPE and EEK (Emsisoft Emergency Kit), which program would you choose?
     
  11. windowsdefender

    windowsdefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    Yes it does ask what to do when it finds a threat (a risk in NPE terms).
     
  12. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,066
    Both, they are different kind of scanners.
     
  13. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    No elaboration, just "they are different".
    Okay.
     
  14. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,066
    NPE does not have any av database and produce more FP's than detections, so you have to know what you are doing, you can not just delete all the detections.

    Emisoft EK is a normal av scanner.
     
  15. windowsdefender

    windowsdefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    You do have a point.
     
  16. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Aha. I see.
    That can be a definite drawback for users who don't have knowledge.
    I read that at least it has a roll-back feature.
    I also read somewhere recently that NPE leaves a lot behind on uninstall.
    I'm debating whether or not to install it and try it.
    I have EEK, but with infrequent use, I end up with these huge, time-consuming updates in order to bring it current before a scan.
     
  17. windowsdefender

    windowsdefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    In my opinion I would EEK over NPE if my system was infected with a lot of viruses, but if they were that bad I would reinstall Windows.
     
  18. windowsdefender

    windowsdefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    Do not use NPE, it does not need to be installed, but it does come up with a lot of FPs.
     
  19. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Of course, otherwise there will be many complaints in their forums about broken systems (it's FP-prone).
    Neither. HMP already includes Emsisoft and Ikarus engines. If those were the only choices, EEK for more comprehensive signatures and better cleaning (deep scan).
     
  20. qakbot

    qakbot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    380
    I much prefer NPE since its must more aggressive and shows me EVERYTHING, all rated with Symantec's reputation based on what they are seeing for those exes across their entire user base. I can then decide what to do. There is no "voodoo" logic like some other products like MBAM, like looking for video.exe, or "drivers with no version info", which tends to miss stuff as the threat space changes.
     
  21. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    What do think about NPE's fp rate? Excessive?
    What about the claim that it leaves lots of remnants behind on uninstall?
    And what do you mean by MBAM's "voodoo" logic?
    I read your examples, but don't get it.
     
  22. nosirrah

    nosirrah Malware Fighter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Cummington MA USA
    We get that you don't like the product that competes with the one that you support but lying is not helping you build your case. MBAM will not auto flag drivers with no version information nor a file named video.exe as you claim.

    If you do not understand our product why don't you just stick with talking about the one you do understand and support.
     
  23. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,066
    +1
    Seems that some people are married with security brands xD
     
  24. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    LOL :D I say just use what works for you. :p
     
  25. qakbot

    qakbot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    380
    I am not lying, you are. Just repeating what you are saying Bruce, in this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r2PP29Z4Q4c&feature=relmfu about 3:55 into this very annoying video.

    Somewhere else on the web, don't remember where, you talk about "voodoo" logic to <paraphrase> "take out entire families".

    I call it like I hear it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.