Norton One and Norton 360 Everywhere

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by malexous, Feb 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Ireland
  2. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Sounds expensive but gradually more security vendors are moving in this direction now :p
     
  3. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    McAfee has already implemented it. Everyone will follow soon
     
  4. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    From the above linked page;
    'One year of Norton One will be available to purchase online for US $149.99 to cover up to five devices.'
    It's a steep price but at $30 per device, it's not ridiculously overpriced imo.

    'Virus Protection Assurance: Exclusive Norton One Support Advisors will remove any malware on customers’ devices at no additional charge, as long as their Norton One account is active.'
    How will Symantec do that without an 'MBAM for Android/MAC' available? :p
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Agreed, but there will likely also be heavily discounted (sometimes free after rebate) offers from time to time, as that has been their marketing model for a few years now.

    Ah yes, the Symantec Support and MBAM story. That didn't play very well :D
     
  6. get_it

    get_it Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Posts:
    99
    Sounds like bloat
     
  7. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Sounds good but kinda expensive :rolleyes:
     
  8. qakbot

    qakbot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    380
    Symantec support doesn't use MBAM anymore. Kinda pointless when they have a Norton Power ERASER and their own other custom tools.
     
  9. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA

    Well, they stopped using it because turning to a different vendor's product to do what your own product should do looks really bad. I'm happy to have Norton Power Eraser too, but I don't know how its' detection and removal compare with MBAM.
     
  10. qakbot

    qakbot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    380
    I use the two a lot. Or I should say I used to use both a lot. It turns out that the philosophy of the products are different and that is what causes users to think that MBAM is more effective. NPE is much better on threats that are running, or configured to run i.e. they are in what the industry refers to as a "load-point" e.g. being in the Run key. Removing these is what really counts. MBAM will try to flag everything, including text files just sitting in a folder, but it misses more of the important stuff. Thats why when I run MBAM after NPE, it finds "missed" threats.

    I'd rather get the stuff that really matters instead of the fluff.
     
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Can you link to any comprehensive tests that include both NPE and MBAM? I've also used them both in the field, but the number of systems is too small for me to draw any conclusions.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.