Norton Internet Security 2009

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by swisscoms, Sep 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    PA
    Yes, this is a nice feature though I have found the IDS to be a bit inconsistent with rogue AV and anti-spyware sites. And it still has to block the trojans.

    I prefer it get a web scanner in future versions because if it finds a virus, then the connection is aborted. No chance for more to get through.

    That said, love the install/uninstall, and detection seems to be even better than before. If I had not just bought something that has just as good or better detection, I'd consider NIS 2009 as part of layered security.

    The suite runs well so it will be interesting to see future tests.
     
  2. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    I have a question regarding the Safe Web add on plug-in. When connecting to the Google Homepage now, there is a very slight delay. However, once on the net, large webpages seem to load even quicker than before. Anyone else noticed this?
     
  3. rhuds13

    rhuds13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Posts:
    98
    Noticed a very slight pause on a couple sites like MSN and Comcast but very small. But this could also be cause I'm running a full system scan at the same time. So all in all very good response times so far. Happy camper here.
     
  4. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Never a Norton Basher but never much of a fan really. This is changing my mind. It's light fast and looking good. However I am have problems with the full system scan. Unlike others experience it's taking a long time. My last scan with Avira took about 30 minutes and suggested scan of around 330K files.

    NIS2009 is taking 90 mins and suggest scanning 900k files. It seems to scan around 500k files in the folders C:\Windows\installer even though I regularly use Windows Installer Cleanup and nothing else (I think I've used all the main scanners in the last 6 weeks!) have come near this figure.

    I have run Norton insight which says only 10% of files require scan.

    Probably a newbie error on my part but would be grateful for any ideas.
     
  5. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    Many thanks for your input there. It is just a very slight dealy when opening IE7 up, as it connects to Google that I can see. Perhaps Shane from Symantec who posted earlier may have a suggestion. I guess any Web Filter has the potential to reduce speed by a split second as it checks content? Like you, I am still delighted with this suite's performance though. :)
     
  6. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    I havn't seeen that here Chris, it is super fast on my system. Perhaps go to settings and hit Default All - and try again? :doubt:
     
  7. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    PA
    When I tried it, the full scan took a long time. I have a lot of files, but would something hasten the scan?
     
  8. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Thanks, will give it a go but as yet I have not changed anything. If not I'll try to reinstall. I think it must be getting stuck somehow in the installer folder. There just aint that much in there.
     
  9. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Wow! Full system scan has just completed in less than 15 minutes (although most files were trusted or skipped due to 'insight'). It moved out of the installer folder in less than a second instead of the hour it spent in there before.

    I did not change any scan settings so not sure why resetting to default should have worked but it did.

    If you are having slow scan times give it a go!

    Thanks Swisscomms, its looking more like a keeper all the time.
     
  10. rhuds13

    rhuds13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Posts:
    98
    full scan took 1hr 35min on 1,375,232 files. I have extra drive on with copies of all files to check it also. that means over 108gig of music and 120 gig of game installs since all on one drive are on second drive. My D drive is 200 gig of stored files so that times 2. I think the time to scan was not bad at all. Also if you leave caching turned on then files you use often will not scan each time you open them.
     
  11. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    You are very welcome Chris! I just placed another online key order with a $10 online credit, so I have another year for $39.99, so I am keeping mine too. :D
     
  12. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    That's pretty fast already. I have noticed as I run my PC more and more, the quicker NIS 2009 seems to run. I will check your idea about caching the files too. Many thanks!
     
  13. rhuds13

    rhuds13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Posts:
    98
    By default caching is turned on in real time protection so if you left that way should be ok. So far I'm really liking what I see here. :D
     
  14. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    You could try going to settings, and then hit Default All, and try scanning again. This has worked a couple of times already today. :)
     
  15. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,084
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, generally I think Neil Rubenking's reviews are well put together. His methodology is sound and he goes deep enough into the products. Still, I'd like to see additional in-depth reviews from other sources to see how consistent the findings are.

    So far I think it's a fine product. I ran the beta for a week and then installed the trial on two PC's. The fast install without needing to reboot is terrific. I also really like the Norton Insight feature that white-list's files to speed up scans. One feature I'd like to see ON by default is "early startup protection" (it's called something like that) - by default it's off. It's good to go through all the settings to make sure nothing is missed. I also enabled the network discovery feature, but this is pretty limited. The review says you can see the status of other PC's running NIS2009 and be alerted to problems, but there's no remote management. That would be a cool feature to add.
     
  16. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,008
    Norton is asking on their own forum for wishes for the 2010 version. Go ahead ;)
     
  17. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    I'm running all my internet facing apps in their own sandbox with sandboxIE. I set to only allow that app to connect to the internet from inside that sandbox. If I run IE or Firefox out of the sandbox the Norton anti-phishing tool bar is activated. If I run them sandboxed the tool bar does not work.

    Any ideas what process I should be allowing to connect to the internet from the sandbox to let the phishing toolbar work inside sandboxIE?

    Thanks
     
  18. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,121
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    The information offered by a few posters here about Norton Insight is not correct in terms of reducing the time for a complete scan. Insight determines safe running processes; note that when it scans it is not looking into program folders, etc. I found that the scan time required for 970,000 files is the same with or without Insight. It is for on demand purposes- not full scanning.

    This is my understanding of it and the reading of posts by Symantec employees in their forum. Setting everything to default should not make for any change whatsoever in terms of the time to complete a full scan.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2008
  19. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    To expand this point somewhat, see here. The key point is about halfway through the article:
    Blue
     
  20. hex_614

    hex_614 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    does security company such as norton really need to make new products yearly. why not just updates its current product. like microsoft they are making windows os not on a yearly basis
     
  21. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,121
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    You get a free upgrade to the "new" program if you have a valid subscription (as I did from NIS 2008 to NIS 2009), so it is a matter of semantics as to the difference between a new product and an update.
     
  22. mrfargoreed

    mrfargoreed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    356
    Hey chris1341!

    I'm also having the same problem but it appears to be, at the moment, unsolvable, according to the SandboxIE frum:

    http://sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=3717

    I personally prefer to keep my browsers inside SandboxIE and hide the Norton toolbar, but that's just me. Wonder what the experts here at Wilders would say?

    :thumb:
     
  23. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,084
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the clarification about how Norton Insight works. I need to read more...
     
  24. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    the landscape is constantly changing which needs alot of changes to the product to keep up with current and future threats.
    most of the 2009 product ranges have a brand new engine written from the ground up so it doesnt slow down the computers unlike the older engines.
     
  25. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    Thank you for the information. Does the Insight feature work in a similar way to McAfee Enterprise 8.5i's feature of after a file has been scanned and found to be OK, it won't go back and keep scanning it? I can't remeber where I read about this feature.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.