Norton Ghost pro systemworks 2003/Acronis?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Wills, Mar 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wills

Wills Registered Member

My subscription will be coming due for Norton Professional systemworks 2003 which has the Ghost program on it and I also use the System Doctor as well as the A/V.

I always have to get a tech to Ghost it as I tried it once and had no luck. I have a pentium 4, intel, 40 gigs, 24 free, 512 RAM, and 1.9ghz. The tech did a partition of 10 gigs for the ghost.

I get it ghosted about every 4 months and he charges $100 as I simply don't get the concept of the program and what I have to do. I have a boot disk and then several disks that he copied and then the partition with ghost.

What I want is a user friendly program. I'm not computer illiterate, however I am new to apps like this and trying to understand them by the manual and understand what a partition is all about baffles me and so I leave it up to the tech and he charges $100 and so I thought that I would ask if this Acronis is more user friendly.
    Now I see there is a Ghost 9 program out and I look at some reviews and they seem to be critical of it.

I have an external dvd burner and am now thinking that maybe I will buy an external 40 gig hard drive rather than try to get into this partitioning etc.

Does Acronis, copy everything, for example I have 6 shortcuts to dial up isp providers that i use when i am out in the field for work and so i was wondering if it will back up all of the phone line settings etc, that are part of the short cut to these dialups so that i don't have to call the isp provider and do the settings all over again.
    I am mostly concerned about all of the programs that I have on the notebook rather than documents as I don't save them there.

I need a user friendly program that I can understand. I don't know anything about import/export....copy etc.