Norton Firewall Problem

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by emiana, May 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emiana

emiana Guest

Hello All.
    I'm new to this world of parasites, so pardon any malapropisms.
    I have recently downloaded Spybot Search & Destroy and Spyware Blaster because I had been severely hijacked. I've run, updated and fixed all problem files and have inoculated. Now, the problem I'm encountering is that if I keep my Norton Personal Firewall enabled, most sites come up as "The Page Cannot be displayed", but as soon as I disable the firewall, then everything back to normal. Any ideas as to what is going on? and how I can fix it (if at all)?

I should add that a similar thing was happening when I had not yet cleaned up my computer.

Thank you.

2. CrazyM

CrazyM Firewall Expert

Hi emiana

Some questions to help determine what might be going on:
    - Which version of NIS?
    - What content filtering do you have enabled?
    - Have you checked the logs for what NIS may be filtering/blocking?
    - You mention "most sites", any in particular?

Regards,

CrazyM

3. emiana

emiana Registered Member

CrazyM:
    Thanks for responding.
    The NIS version is 4
    Content filtering is medium
    Your log question led me to try something: I added various sites I frequently visit to the Trusted Site log - now they work (although sometimes the pictures are blanks until I disable the firewall and then enable it right afterwards). It seems that today all sites, including this one, were not working with the enabled firewall - anyway, everything from newspapers to email to banking sites.
    It's ok if I have to list every site I frequently visit, but it will be impossible to do so when researching and hitting all sorts of sites. So, I don't know what I should do. Why is this happening now? Should I be concerned or is NIS doing its job?