Norton DNS v2

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by malexous, Sep 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Ireland
    http://community.norton.com/t5/Othe...on-of-Norton-DNS-is-now-available/td-p/548930
    http://dns.norton.com/
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    Cool stuff, seems like they use different IPs for the different policies.

    What I don't understand is the old IP's are now gone. The "basic" protection IP's are different from the old ones, and they seem to provide extra things: "A - Security (malware, phishing sites, scam sites and web proxies)"

    What if I don't want to block web proxies, do I leave the old IP's? Why are the old IPs not displayed anymore?
     
  3. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Good question.

    I like policy 1, but sometimes I do use web proxies. I'd still like to block malware, phishing and fraudulent websites, though.

    The old IPs are still working, otherwise I wouldn't be able to connect. :D

    I don't see any mentions that the IPs are going to change?

    I took a look at the FAQ page, and there's no mention of web proxies being blocked with policy 1.

    https://dns.norton.com/dnsweb/faq.do
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Was going to post about this only because I emailed Norton and asked them why they have no category for the blocking of Social Networking a la other providers.

    After two days, support just emailed me about these changes. What gives? They never even answered my question.

    I had to go back to DynDNS anyway. On my connection, Norton DNS was slow with certain https sites, gmail especially for some reason. After going back to DynDNS, no issues.

    In an effort to stay on topic though, how are you guys liking this change and what policy did you choose?
     
  5. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Have you tried online chat category?

    Personally, I'm not impressed with the changes and loss of control. Luckily, I registered beforehand.
     
  6. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Same here, even though I've left. At least for now.
     
  7. JimboW

    JimboW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    209
    Not liking these changes at all. Especially the blocking of web proxies. I've had to revert to the old DNS settings as it was blocking Google translate (web proxy) with no option to continue on.
     
  8. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I'm using the new server addresses, as of about 3 minutes ago.
    The old test page is still working for these addresses.
    I need to figure out how v2 is better/different...
     
  9. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Overall, another downgrade for their freeware products. Nothing new.
     
  10. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
  11. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    I am still using the old IP's (192.153.194.1 & 192.153.192.1) and the Norton Test Page says that I am OK. What kind of protection, if any, do these old IP's provide?
     
  12. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Yes, I know. What I meant is that their FAQ doesn't mention web proxies, at all. I find it odd. I guess they just forgot about it... Or, they wrongly wrote web proxies as being part of the pack. I mean, as one other user mentioned, Google translator, which uses proxy, gets blocked. Isn't Symantec aware of such situations? I hope they are.

    -edit-

    Well, it seems to be blocking web proxies indeed.

    http://community.norton.com/t5/Other-Norton-Products/NortonDNS-blocks-local-Google/td-p/549110

    I hope they make a new pack without web proxies.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2011
  13. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Well, I just tested a malicious website I got from Norton SafeWeb page, considering that Norton DNS fetches results from there, and it blocked it.

    I suppose all is OK for now. :D
     
  14. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    On the old IP? I currently left the old IP in hope it doesn't block proxies. I don't seem to have proxies blocked anyway.
     
  15. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I don't think so. I think the users over Norton's forum must have switched to the new IPs.
     
  16. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Would you explain this statement?
    What other downgrades have there been?
    And why do you consider this a downgrade?
     
  17. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    OpenDNS uses proxy to do its content filtering service is that the same for Norton DNS?


    Are there any privacy issues about these DNS' that uses proxies? o_O
     
  18. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Simple, they've made it worse.
    Norton Security Scan, originally scanned entire system and more features. Norton Power Eraser, removed custom scan for retarded "offline-OS" scan.
    Did you read my previous post? Loss of control, and forced categories.
     
  19. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Seems you have a few bones to pick with Norton J_L. :D
     
  20. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Doesn't Norton DNS record and store all our IP address' and websites visited?
     
  21. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Why is Norton DNS better than OpenDNS or DynDNS?

    And I just got it working.. Your computer is currently using Norton DNS. :)

    But I cannot configure anything, right? I can only enter 3 different DNS numbers, that's all?
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2011
  22. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
  23. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I don't personally use proxies, never need to. However, for fun I checked one out and this is what Norton DNS said:

    Warning! Accessing this Web site is NOT allowed.

    This is a known "Web Proxies" web site which is blocked as specified by your web content filtering policy.
     
  24. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    I think they flush their logs after several days.



     

    Attached Files:

  25. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    How do you know they flush their logs after several days? Do you work for Norton or a Norton staff member told you? or are you assuming and guessing?

    And is that the only configurations we can do..by selecting between 3 different DNS address? That's it? Nothing more we can do?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.