Norton AntiVirus 2009 Tray Icon

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Rain_Train, Dec 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    141
    Hi, I have a problem with Norton AV 2009. All of a sudden, the Norton tray icon stopped showing up at startup. I look at the Task Manager and I see "ccSvcHst.exe" is running, but the tray icon doesn't show up. I even try double-clicking the desktop icon, but nothing happens. I've looked for a startup entry of some sort, but there doesn't appear to be a startup entry anywhere.

    I know my system is clean. The tray icon just stopped showing up, and I'm not sure how to get it back. Can someone help? o_O
     
  2. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I had the same problem give a reboot to ur computer it will work:thumb:
     
  3. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    Try this. If that doesn't help check this:
    I had a similar issue with another antivirus on 1 of my computers the problem on that computer was that the terminal services wasn't automatically started at each boot. You can check this: press the windows button together with r now type services.msc press enter. Now right click on the terminal services select properties by start-up type select automatic press on apply and ok. Now reboot your pc see if you still have the issue.
     
  4. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    141
    Alright, I rebooted my computer, but the tray icon was still missing. So I just went ahead and reinstalled, and it works fine now (so far...).
     
  5. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Ditto that problem and the exact same solution on two of my 6 machines last night. Must have been an install glitch in the recently released update(s) I did, but all seems OK now.
     
  6. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi :)


    The same thing happens to me from time to time :(
    Laptop .. Vista Home Premium - NIS 09

    However!
    The same thing also happens from time to time..
    On My Desktop Computer .. Vista Home Premium - AVG 8 o_O


    It Always Seems To Happen .. After There's Been A - Big Update :rolleyes:
    Kind of like they replaced the old Icon with a new one.
    And the new Taskbar Icon is set by Default to - Hide When Inactive


    When It Happens To You...
    Have you tried clicking the < To make sure it's not just hiding?


    The Next Time It Happens - Try This...

    1/ Do Not Try To Open - NIS 09
    Instead...
    2/ Right-Click Your Taskbar
    3/ Click On - Properties
    4/ Click On - Notification Area
    5/ Click On - Customise
    Now... In the top half of the little window... Look For - NIS 09
    6/ Click On - NIS 09
    And From The Drop Down Menu...
    7/ Click On - Show
    8/ Click - OK
    9/ Click - OK



    No - Restart Required!

    And Once Your NIS 09 Taskbar Icon - Is Back!
    You are safe to open NIS 09 again :thumb:

    Note!
    You might have to repeat this procedure from time to time.
    After Big Updates :rolleyes:


    Hope This Helps! ;)
     
  7. osip

    osip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    610
    You can also give "Taskbar Repair Tool Plus!" a try if you're with XP...
    http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/taskbarplus!.htm
    (It worked for me earlier with similar problems with other apps...)
     
  8. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    141
    Thanks a lot for the repy, Zeena. However, the icon was not hidden; it just didn't show up. In any case, a reinstall fixed it. And osip, I use Vista, so I'm not sure if that program would work.
     
  9. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    I appreciate the reference in any event. I've frequented kellys-korner before but never ran across that one. Disappearing notification tray icons pester me once in a while (without hiding inactive) and I'd never run across a solution, so I'll check it out.:cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.