Norton AntiVirus 2009 Tray Icon

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Rain_Train, Dec 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    139
    Hi, I have a problem with Norton AV 2009. All of a sudden, the Norton tray icon stopped showing up at startup. I look at the Task Manager and I see "ccSvcHst.exe" is running, but the tray icon doesn't show up. I even try double-clicking the desktop icon, but nothing happens. I've looked for a startup entry of some sort, but there doesn't appear to be a startup entry anywhere.

    I know my system is clean. The tray icon just stopped showing up, and I'm not sure how to get it back. Can someone help? o_O
     
  2. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I had the same problem give a reboot to ur computer it will work:thumb:
     
  3. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    Try this. If that doesn't help check this:
    I had a similar issue with another antivirus on 1 of my computers the problem on that computer was that the terminal services wasn't automatically started at each boot. You can check this: press the windows button together with r now type services.msc press enter. Now right click on the terminal services select properties by start-up type select automatic press on apply and ok. Now reboot your pc see if you still have the issue.
     
  4. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    139
    Alright, I rebooted my computer, but the tray icon was still missing. So I just went ahead and reinstalled, and it works fine now (so far...).
     
  5. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Ditto that problem and the exact same solution on two of my 6 machines last night. Must have been an install glitch in the recently released update(s) I did, but all seems OK now.
     
  6. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi :)


    The same thing happens to me from time to time :(
    Laptop .. Vista Home Premium - NIS 09

    However!
    The same thing also happens from time to time..
    On My Desktop Computer .. Vista Home Premium - AVG 8 o_O


    It Always Seems To Happen .. After There's Been A - Big Update :rolleyes:
    Kind of like they replaced the old Icon with a new one.
    And the new Taskbar Icon is set by Default to - Hide When Inactive


    When It Happens To You...
    Have you tried clicking the < To make sure it's not just hiding?


    The Next Time It Happens - Try This...

    1/ Do Not Try To Open - NIS 09
    Instead...
    2/ Right-Click Your Taskbar
    3/ Click On - Properties
    4/ Click On - Notification Area
    5/ Click On - Customise
    Now... In the top half of the little window... Look For - NIS 09
    6/ Click On - NIS 09
    And From The Drop Down Menu...
    7/ Click On - Show
    8/ Click - OK
    9/ Click - OK



    No - Restart Required!

    And Once Your NIS 09 Taskbar Icon - Is Back!
    You are safe to open NIS 09 again :thumb:

    Note!
    You might have to repeat this procedure from time to time.
    After Big Updates :rolleyes:


    Hope This Helps! ;)
     
  7. osip

    osip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    610
    You can also give "Taskbar Repair Tool Plus!" a try if you're with XP...
    http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/taskbarplus!.htm
    (It worked for me earlier with similar problems with other apps...)
     
  8. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    139
    Thanks a lot for the repy, Zeena. However, the icon was not hidden; it just didn't show up. In any case, a reinstall fixed it. And osip, I use Vista, so I'm not sure if that program would work.
     
  9. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    I appreciate the reference in any event. I've frequented kellys-korner before but never ran across that one. Disappearing notification tray icons pester me once in a while (without hiding inactive) and I'd never run across a solution, so I'll check it out.:cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.