Norton Antivirus 2002

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by FrozeNn, Sep 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FrozeNn

    FrozeNn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Posts:
    33
    Hi Dudes!

    Just wana ask whether Norton AntiVirus 2002 has the same definition files as Norton security suite's Anti Virus?

    How come Norton Security Suite can detect Virus that NA2002 cant.?? :rolleyes:

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    New AV versions can have newer engines & also upgraded heuristics. That's how.
     
  3. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Version 2006/7 are a lot better than the 2002 version with newer type of malware and frankly you would be better of with the free version of AntiVir at this point.
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hi FrozeNn , please have a look at this thread and perform the suggestions to completely remove this outdated software .

    Regards!;)
     
  5. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Posts:
    614
    Norton 2002. Is truly abysmal software. And the last Norton I allowed onto my system.

    Its Diallar and Trojan Detecting capabilities are basically zero (And I think I still have the £400 monthly phone bill from 2003 to prove this fact :'( ).

    Its definition updating feature is also terrible. It would on many frequent occasions fail to update for many unexplained reasons.

    Other times it would make you believe it had updated the definitions but did not.

    Using this software also let some virus on my system in 2002, only 1 month of buying my brand new PC. And it completely destroyed it. Broke my hard drive. And motherboard. Luckily as it was only 1 month old the shop replaced them.

    My honest suggestion after two years of more than happy use would be to get Kaspersky Antivirus. And forget all about Norton.
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    oddly i think norton 2002 was the last norton I used as well.

    the detection of trojans and other malware was like zero.
     
  7. FrozeNn

    FrozeNn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Posts:
    33
    sorry post in the wrong post just now.

    and yeap

    ive just install KAV 6.0 D

    cheers buddy but its lagging me while im playing games. any idea?
     
  8. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Well, I suggest you to try NOD32 instead. It is lighter in resources then KAV and its detection rates are almost the same and sometimes even bigger thanks to their heuristic engine.
     
  9. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Here we go again.:rolleyes:
     
  10. Suggers

    Suggers Guest

    You could try setting the realtime scanner to it's lowest settings, or if you're just trialling KAV 6 then you may want to consider trying a different AV to see if it suites you better.

    Suggers
     
  11. FrozeNn

    FrozeNn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Posts:
    33
    found a temp solution which is just disable the protection while playing games :D
     
  12. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Going to what ? Have I said something wrong?
     
  13. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    pykko,

    I think Don's point was that immediately after the installation of a new product in which some configuration/use assistance was requested, suggesting pulling that product and installing an alternate option doesn't really address the question posed.

    FrozeNn,

    There are also a number of measures possible short of disabling the product that should probably be pursued first.

    Blue
     
  14. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    I used to think that no matter what PROGRAM version you were running of an AV or such, you'd get the same sigs, and thus same protection.
     
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    well norton is rubbish in that way. you have to pay extra to get the lastest version.
     
  16. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    no, the newer program versions (e.g. 2006 and 2007) have a e.g. new engines etc. which allows to detect much more malware and is e.g. also "lighter" than the older versions. The older versions are not able to use all the definitions etc. included in the updates.
     
  17. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    except in the case of norton and they normaly get hevaer
     
  18. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    Oh I know. I used to think differently though. I used Norton 2000 for awhile a year ago, thinking it was still getting the signatures.

    Funny, I would think the older Nortons were less bloated, like most products.
     
  19. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    ye i kinda thought you did. i stopped using norton on the 2003 or 2003 version.

    and soon to get rid of f-secure. sometimes you just gotta get trhe better thing and move on.
     
  20. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Thats exactly what i meant.
     
  21. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    You should this with Kav 6.0 uninstalled:

    1. Run the Norton removaltool:ftp://ftp.symantec.com/misc/consumer/Rnav2003.exe.

    2. Download and install the trial of Regsupreme, run it (use normalmode only, not aggressive), when finished scanning you rightclick and select "All", then you click "Fix" at the bottom, it will ask you if you wish to make a backup and you do, just to be safe.

    3. Reinstall Microsoft windows script.

    4. Reinstall Kav 6.0, keep the default settings and do a full scan as the first thing.

    Add the game to the trustedzone found in the settings.
     
  22. FrozeNn

    FrozeNn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Posts:
    33
    Yeap, but initially, i have already cleared off Norton AntiVirus 2002 using Add/Remove Programs and using CCLeaner to clear up leftover stuffs.

    So, will implementing the above methods (running the tool etc and reinstalling) help to remove the lag in my game with Kaspersky protection on?

    Cheers and thanks for the reply earlier on. :cool:

    and ya, to add on, if i were to follow ur procedures, whats the method that i shld use to remove KAV?
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2006
  23. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Just add/remove programs, exit it first from the icon.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.