Norton Account.

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Heco, Feb 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hello all :),

    With WRSA 8.0.1.95, i can't get access to my NIS 2012 account (https): Firefox 10 (my default browser) shuts down immediately when i try to log in! When i close WRSA, there is no issue.. I tried to change Protected Website https to medium, low and even none... to no avail! Only when WRSA is closed that i can get to my account
    My system is Vista Ultimate 32 bits English.
    Thank you for your help.

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Did you try a reboot since updating to this new version?

    TH
     
  3. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hi TH!

    Yes! Many reboots after each change of configuration in WRSA.
    What is weird is that this issue only happens with FF and not with Opera or IE9 browsers...

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
  4. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    I have a Norton account as well being my wife uses Norton(BOO!),and after seeing your problem i tried logging in to it via firefox and had no problem at all.I run Win7x64 and use firefox sparingly.SOunds like some kind of configuration problem.I would recommend first writing down your license key.2)uninstall wsa
    3)run a temp file and reg cleaner like ccleaner found at www.piriform.com(free and safe).run the program and reboot
    4)reinstall wsa and reboot
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    That's not a good idea at this point! Either PrevxHelp with give further instructions or it is best to contact the WSA support inbox! http://www.webrootanywhere.com/support

    TH
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2012
  7. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Thank you superssjdan and TH for your help!
    @TH: FF10 is quite different from its previous versions. No compatibility in Tools or in Options...
    You're right, Let's wait till PrevxHelp gives me his opinion on this issue.
    Thanks again.

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2012
  8. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    What Firefox extensions do you have installed?
     
  9. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hi Victek123 :)

    Hereafter my add-ons:
    - Deskcut
    - Download Helper
    - ForecastFox
    - Gmail Watcher
    - Microsoft. NET Framework Assistant
    - Norton Toolbar and Vulnerability protection
    - Personas
    - Quick Java
    - WOT
    That's all!
    Thanks Victek.

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Nothing there seems like it would get in the way, but you could try disabling all of the extensions and try logging into the Norton account.
     
  12. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Thanks Victek!
    I got a reply from Symantec: there is a conflict when WRSA is monitoring FF, with the norton toolbars!
    Indeed when i configure WRSA not to monitor FF10 and to allow it, i can log in in my Norton Account!
    So what prevents me fom getting to my Norton account is Webroot latest beta version!
    Should i believe Symantec technician's message? Is there an incompatibility between WRSA and Norton toolbars? To the second question, i think so...
    Any help from Joe would be greatly appreciated!;)

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2012
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We have another update coming out soon which will hopefully improve this - you'll see it update to 8.0.1.100+

    In the meantime, you may want to change Firefox to Allow until the issue is fixed.

    Thanks for the heads up!
     
  14. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Thanks to YOU Joe for your kind reply!:)
    Just another question:
    I purchased in December a licence for the official release of WRSA-E. Considering the issue i'm encountering with FF10, do you think it's the right time to enter the new password i got through an email OR should i wait for the beta ending process to do so (my version is 8.0.1.95, invite)?
    Sorry for disturbing you again.

    Cheers Joe,
    Herve
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    IMO I would think it's best to continue with the Closed Beta Key as at some point they will stop working and also we get the newer updates first! ;)

    TH
     
  16. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I agree :) You may as well stay with the closed beta key for the time being!
     
  17. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    OK! Thanks both of you, Th and Joe, for this pertinent advice:thumb: !

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
  18. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    @ Heco: And it's free right now! Keeping it until it no longer works. :)
     
  19. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    I'd just like to keep a permanent beta branch running, whether it's closed, paid-for, or anything doesn't really matter, as Joe's betas are always very stable, and as TH said, you get the earliest use of the latest build :)

    edit: but maybe that's not possible, and this belongs in the suggestions thread?
     
  20. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    @ PatG: Thank you for your post that corroborates Joe and TH's suggestion.:)
    @ Dermot: I do appreciate your ever relevant opinion. I eagerly read your posts. You're a wise and right man to whom i feel much respect and who is always ready to help others!:) In your EDIT, do you suggest that at some point my purchased key won't be valid any longer? I read in a previous thread that the purchased key remains valid until one enters it and that the "count time" only begins when you use it... Am i wrong in what i understood? Or did you mean anything else?

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2012
  21. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Hi Herve :) and thanks for your kind comments. Sorry for the confusion...no, what I meant was that, inevitably, the closed beta will end at some stage, and I don't mind, since I have a couple of spare licenses anyway, but just that I'd like to see WSA still giving us betas regardless...a la previous Prevx 3.0 RC.
    Hope that's clearer now...Regards, Dermot :)
     
  22. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Thank you Dermot! Yes it's clear now!
    Sorry for wasting your time in order to help me!

    Best regards and cheers Dermot,
    Herve
     
  23. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    @Heco...It certainly wouldn't be any waste of time to help you or others...more
    a pleasure to do so! :)
    I know how many times I've been helped (and in the future will doubtless need
    help) and folks have been very kind towards me :)
    "Do unto others...etc"
     
  24. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hi all:) ,

    Thanks Dermot!:)
    Now it's in IE9 that i can't get access to Norton identity safe toolbar with my password! IE9 crashes... Should i allow IE9 too? 2 browsers (FF and IE) not monitored by WSA... isn't it a big issueo_O?
    Fortunately Opera is not managed by NIS 2012 (latest release) and WSA monitors it like a champ!
    Thanks for your help! Joe...i'm looking forward to getting the next version of WSA-E beta...more compatible with NIS! A friend of mine in the Norton community faced with the same problem with one of a previous WSA Beta and advised me NOT to use 2 AVs at the same time even if one claims to be compatible with the other...I'm much puzzled right now, to tell you the truth.

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
  25. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    The collective wisdom in The Norton,Kaspersky,Mcafee forums is you cannot run 2 av's together.I do monitor those forums regularly.That is the truth with alot of av's,but not WSA.I have tried many combos for reference sake and the only one i would rule out absolutely would be WSA and Kaspersky as Kaspersky does not play nice with anything that isn't kaspersky.At the moment i am running WSA-C,NIS2012,MBAM together with no problems whatsoever..no lag..no lockups..nothing.Wsa was built from the ground up to be compatable with many other av's.Wsa is perfectly capable of protecting your system on it's own,but in today's threat climate a layered approach to security seems to me to be the best way to protect ones pc and webroot/prevx had this on their mind when they created WSA.I cannot wait to see what the future holds,because WSA will only get better from here.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.