Norton 2011

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Anth-Unit, Mar 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anth-Unit

    Anth-Unit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    108
    Anyone else getting "failed to complete" on the latest x64 definitions? I remember a problem with live update a week or so ago, and I'm wondering if this is just me.
     
  2. Dark_Hanzo

    Dark_Hanzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    178
    Location:
    Canada
    The live update works fine here on vista X64. I just manually updated a moment ago.
     
  3. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    815
    Plenty of people on the Norton Community forum are experiencing it too.
     
  4. Anth-Unit

    Anth-Unit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    108
    Can I get a link to the thread please?
     
  5. Dark_Hanzo

    Dark_Hanzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    178
    Location:
    Canada
  6. Anth-Unit

    Anth-Unit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    108
  7. Dark_Hanzo

    Dark_Hanzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    178
    Location:
    Canada
    I have NIS installed on two machines (vista x64 and win7 x32) but I haven't encountered any problems with updates. Apparently not all norton users are affected by this. I hope norton will sort this out asap.
     
  8. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,296
    No problem here.
    Jerry
     
  9. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    i think they fix it yesterday , from yesterday until now the update ok , try to update ur norton today and see its will complete or not
    good luck
     
  10. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Everything is working gr8 here :thumb:
     
  11. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    the problem of update come back again today i dont know they will fix it or no ??
     

    Attached Files:

    • nnn.jpg
      nnn.jpg
      File size:
      28.3 KB
      Views:
      855
  12. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    815
    If the problem is at their end, of course they will fix it as soon as they can.
     
  13. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    untile now the problem not fix
    same problem the update not good and not complete
     
  14. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    815
    Sounds more like a problem on your end then. :( Seems on the forum that it has been fixed.
     
  15. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411

    same problem today 23 march 2011

    i think i will go back to avast free
     
  16. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    I had to give it up for this reason. very annoying:mad:
     
  17. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Did u try reinstalling the product?
     
  18. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    we have 6 computers in the home
    2 for me
    2 for my brother
    1 for my sister
    1 for my father and mother

    so i think the problem from norton not from the computers
    coz i dont think 6 laptops bad !!!!

    also my friends have same problem
     
  19. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    yep..dont know whats going on.. no improvement:mad:
     
  20. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Thats a wird problem - hope they have af fix ready soon :rolleyes: The 8 machines i manage with NIS dont have that problem :)
     
  21. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,296
    Sorry for your problem. I just turned on my computer and having read this again I did a manual update. It took just a few seconds to install the 6 updates.
    Norton 2011 IS updates automatically and several times each day. No problem here.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  22. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    today 26 mach 2011 and the problem same
    i will say bye bye norton im waiting too much and nothing happen and the same problem , i will change it to avast antivirus free beta today
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.