Norton 2010 and Outlook 2007 problems

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Raza0007, Nov 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Raza0007

Raza0007 Registered Member

I have Hard Disk Manager 2009 Professional, but since it is strictly a problem related to backup so I am posting it here instead.

I have been doing regular backups and restores using HDM for the last 8 months and never had a problem. I was using the "Paragon hot processing (PHP)" as the default snapshot engine.

Recently, I noticed a problem with PHP and was forced to switch to "Volume shadow Service (VSS)" as the default snapshot engine.

I have done 3 restores last week, with 3 different backups and each time I encountered the following two problems.

1- Norton Internet Security 2010, disabled itself, and gave me an error message that the virus definitions were out of date. The only solution was to download the virus definitions from Norton website and update them manually.

2- Outlook 2007 lost all emails from the hotmail accounts and had to re-download them again. I have two gmail accounts and two hotmail accounts setup. My gmail accounts were fine but each time all hotmail mails were gone.

Since this problem occurred only when I switched the snapshot engine from PHP to VSS, so I can hold VSS as the culprit here or perhaps the interaction between Paragon backup engine and VSS. Can someone explain what is going on here? Everyone is saying that VSS is a reliable snapshot service and should not cause these problems, but exact same problem has happened three times in a row, it can't be coincidence.

2. Paragon_Tommy

Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

Assuming if all of the program files for either of those programs are stored on the same partition, PHP or VSS should not make a difference. Only time we face file corruption like that is when two partitions are out of sync.

3. Raza0007