Norton 2004: Small pop up icon while sending email gone

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by micko_escalade, Jun 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. micko_escalade

    micko_escalade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    Hi all!

    I recently noticed that norton's small icon in right bottom corner
    doesn't shop up while sending email with attachments, although
    everything's setp in norton to scan outgoing attachments
    any idea why?

    thanks
     
  2. micko_escalade

    micko_escalade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    btw, I forgot to mention that I had the same problem with Norton 2003, so I purchesed Norton 2004 thinkin it'll fix the problem,
    but still no joy :(
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I would double check your settings just to make sure that it is for sure enabled. I have used earlier versions of norton but I am not real familiar with the 2004 ver.
     
  4. micko_escalade

    micko_escalade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    thanx bigc73542 for the reply but as you can see from a screenshot everything's enabled
     

    Attached Files:

  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I am kind of reaching but do you have any apps that block animations such as flash. if so it could be blocking the mail protection image
     
  6. micko_escalade

    micko_escalade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    I only have ZoneAlarm but I close it totaly and still same thing
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I really wish I could help but I just can't figure in my mind what might be wrong. But I will do some research and see if I can't come up with something.

    bigc
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    One other thing, are you useing a proxy. Because they can interfer with nortons mail proxy?
     
  9. micko_escalade

    micko_escalade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    no, I'm not using proxy,
    btw, is this right section to post my question?
    any other forum that I can post ?
    thanks
     
  10. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    This is it.
     
  11. taipain

    taipain Guest

    You probably need to upgrade ZoneAlarm. If you are running version 5, there was a problem with Zone Alarm in the first iteration going from 4.5 to 5 that has since been fixed. It would cause the email scan to stop functioning.
     
  12. micko_escalade

    micko_escalade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    thanx for the reply,
    yeah I figured out once I close zone alarm that icon pops up as usual,
    so this v.5 is not all that good,
    and other thing I just installed fresh new windows xp and then again it ask me if I would like to upgrade so I did now norton at start up crashes, every time
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.