Norman Security Suite

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by IvoShoen, Dec 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    526
  2. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Do you really want to use norman? I mean I'm sure its better than nothing or even better than Ultimate security o rama 2012.
     
  3. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    526
    I personally have not used Norman, but thought I would share the info in case anyone else was interested.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  4. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I know. I was just joking around. Norman does have some value. Like I said it is better than nothing at all.
     
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    mmm i dont know about that it tends to slow you down and uses a good amount of ram etc.. i think i would use nothing
     
  6. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    What does DNB stand for? Also, is the 4 year license key already included in the suite? Also, is this the current version?
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2011
  7. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    Norman Security Suite 8 DnBNOR edition is a special edition of the latest version of Norman Security Suite that is being offered by the company for free. The special edition requires no license key to install and offers protection for 4 years.
    The DnBNOR Special Edition of Norman drops certain features such as the Intrusion Guard, Privacy Tools and AntiSpam module from the suite, but users will still have the Antivirus and Antispyware protection feature, the all-new Norman Personal Firewall and Parental Control for 4 years worth.
     
  8. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    ok, thanks for the detailed info, much appreciated
     
  9. Ranget

    Ranget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Not Really Sure :/
    Dude it's free for 4!!! years
    i think it's worth trying at least
     
  10. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    So is avast free and comodo. Of course I would much rather use those. Norman SS had about 8-9 processes running at one time. It's scan speeds are horribly slow. I can make a better security suite with some of my favorite free ware.
     
  11. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    224
    Contrary to what others have said here, I've been using Norman Security Suite Pro for about two weeks with no problems. My ESET subscription expired and I saw Norman advertised for $9.99, three users and scarfed it up. There have been no problems, no viruses, firewall is working well, scan times are quick. The only "glitch" that I would report is that when the program is updating, sometimes it seems like Internet connection is slow.

    I have subscriptions to other av's and I occasionally bring them back briefly for a scan to see if Norman is missing anything. So far, nothing. So right now I'm happy with Norman.

    By the way, is Ad-Aware the av/anti-malware engine for Norman? I ask this because there is a product known as Norman Ad-Aware. If it is, that's cool, because in my experiences in the past I was very happy with Ad-Aware/
     
  12. skokospa

    skokospa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Srbija
    not, norman rebrending Ad-Aware
     
  13. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    No, Norman Ad-aware is a standalone product and uses Norman engine only.
     
  14. arjanm

    arjanm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    RAM usage has improved a lot since version 9.
    I'm currently running Antivirus/Antispyware and Intrusion Guard from their suite. It has 15 processes, but RAM usage is just under 100Mb. The trials I had from Bitdefender, F-Secure or MS Security Essentials were all way over 100Mb, so Norman's RAM usage isn't that bad anymore.

    On-demand scanning is extremely slow indeed (are they trying to run every file in their sandbox maybe?). But the on-access scanner feels rather quick. Applications are starting up faster than with some other scanners I used.
     
  15. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    224
    Another unique feature of Norman Security Suite Pro, which I've never seen before, is a screensaver scanner. It's pretty neat, and kicks in when the special Norman screensaver comes on. I have tried this on two computers. The one with Vista 32-bit works fine, but the screensaver scanner on the Windows 7 64-bit never kicks in. Indeed, you can't even find the special Norman screensaver in the screensaver list. So I don't know if that's a Windows 7 or a 64-bit issue.
     
  16. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    So Ad-Aware from Lavasoft and Ad-Aware from Norman are two completely different products?
     
  17. Ranget

    Ranget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Not Really Sure :/
    i think 4 year is more of an Overkill advertisement of their product

    anyway i will try it out and do some leak testing an report back

    4 years a very Good Deal
     
  18. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    Thank you very much for the Norman 4 year deal.
     
  19. skokospa

    skokospa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Srbija
    no,norman uses lavasoft engin:thumb:
     

    Attached Files:

  20. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Does anyone have any experience running this product in a business environment? I have MS Word, Quickbooks, a networked printer, etc and am wondering if any issues come up as far as false positives, programs responding slow or any other issues.

    thanks
     
  21. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    224
    Well, I use it for personal PC. But I understand Norman does a lot of endpoint security for businesses in Europe and Scandinavia. I imagine the enterprise version for businesses is quite good otherwise they would not get much repeat business. Converting it into a more compact format for individual pc use is another matter. But I have Norman Security Suite Pro on one of my computers and I generally can't complain. However, there is one problem. After updates Internet access tends to be slow and sometimes it even hangs up. I will be monitoring this for a couple of days and see if there is a recurrence.
     
  22. skokospa

    skokospa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Srbija
    I think it should not have any problems.
     
  23. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    o_O I was told by a representative that it is their in-house... but that a year ago.. Thanks for letting me know.:)
     
  24. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    224
    It appears to me that indeed Norman Ad-Aware Pro is built on Lavasoft. But Norman Security Suite Pro shares no features at all, at least visually, with Lavasoft, so I suspect the latter is indeed in-house.
     
  25. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Norman Ad-Aware is based off of Ad-Aware by Lavasoft, no idea if its still updated or what Lavasoft Engine is in it.

    Norman AV/Norman Security suite is all in-house using all Norman tech such as the Norman Sandbox.

    Now do you have to install by a certain date or just download?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.