Noob needs help!

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by alchohol, Oct 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alchohol

alchohol Registered Member

Hi Folks,

Just downloaded L nS to replace Sygate which clashed with a new pci ADSL modem. So far so good with L n S except I'm unable to play Crimson Skies on ms zone. When I enter the lobby no ping is showing on anyone. When a host launches I go ingame but fail to connect to them. It's obviously some setting thats needs sorting but i'm a noob in that area ...although I follow instructions well.

I would appreciate any help that you could give please. If I can get it working I'll buy it!

Thanx in advance,

Mark

2. alchohol

a little quiet around here...is this the main L n S forum?

3. Frederic

Frederic LnS Developer

Hi,

I can't help you so much, I don't know the ports used by this game.

Look at the Look 'n' Stop logs and you will probably find some alerts and the ports will be mentioned there. With a right click on the alert you can add automatically a rule to the ruleset.
    Otherwise try to find a Firewall Config section in a FAQ about this game.

Regards,

Frederic

4. alchohol

Hey....

Thanx Fred! I'll try that right away...appreciate your help.

5. alchohol

I've discovered the ports I need to allow.

MsnZone: These Ports for Zone are TCP: 80, 443, 9999,
    Port 6667 TCP is the Trigger Port for
    this Port Range: 28800 to 29100 TCP

How do I configure this for L n S? Does it have to be this complicated? lol

6. AJohn

AJohn Registered Member

Here is what I would try if I were you:
    Open LNS
    Goto the Log Tab and hit Remove All
    Open your game and try to connect
    Alt-Tab back to LNS and allow the rules that are shown in the log
    You may have to enable each rule for both server and client

GL

7. alchohol

Thanx AJohn,

I'll give that a go although I'm sure there's an easier way.