non system disk, press any key

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Simon Alm, Jul 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Simon Alm

    Simon Alm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Dear,

    After removing the OS selector from Acronis DD10 with a system restore tot a point before installing it, I get a black screen with the message "non system disk, press any key", everytime when I start my pc. After pressing a key Windows Vista (Home Premium) starts up, and my pc seems to work without any problem.

    I am not an expert in computing, but hope that someone can tell me what the problem is, and help to solve it (step by step please).

    Regards.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Did you try uninstalling OSS first? I don't think restore points will return the MBR to its original state.

    Check the BIOS and make sure the correct drive is the booting drive (if you have more than one).

    If you have a standard Microsoft OEM or retail DVD, boot to it, select the Repair option, start the Command Prompt and run the bootrec /fixmbr command at the prompt.

    You can also try the automatic repair option from the Vista DVD and see if it works. It may detect the "corrupt" MBR and fix it.
     
  3. laserfan

    laserfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    What I would try first is to use System Restore to "Undo my last restoration", observe that it's working again as it did originally, and *then* perform a proper uninstall of OSS.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    That's an option that could be tried. My experience with System Restore "fixing" anything has not been good.
     
  5. Simon Alm

    Simon Alm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Hello MudCrab,

    I did not try tot uninstalling OSS first.

    The automatic repair option from the Vista DVD did not succeed. It said there was no problem detected.

    If I understand it properly, I have to start the Command Prompt, type in: bootrec /fixmbr (with a space between c and / and not type .exe after bootrec) and everything goes automatic from that point, just have to wait for a message like repair went ok, now reboot?

    Simon.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2008
  6. Simon Alm

    Simon Alm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Hello again MudCrab,

    Your answer did solve my problem!!

    With shaking knees (translated from Dutch, it meens something like: "oh boy, lets hope it goes well, hold your breath...", maybe its also known in English) I booted from the Vista DVD, and typed in the commandline "bootrec /fixmbr" (without quotemarks).
    That did the trick, my pc boots again normally.

    What a relief!

    Thanks again MudCrab.

    Regards,
    Simon
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    It's amazing how much the Automatic Repair function doesn't detect as wrong, especially on a system that won't boot properly.

    You're very welcome. Thanks for posting back with your results.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.