Non-Responsive Icon (again!)

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Neilyum, Jun 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Neilyum

    Neilyum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Hi again,

    It's been about 2 years since my last post (see below) and I'm having the same exact problem. It's obviously with a newer ESET version (6.0.316.0) with latest Virus Sig Database 8412 (20130604) but the problem remains.

    As I asked previously, is there any way to fix this?
    Thanks in advance!!
    Neil :)

    -----------------------------------------
    -----------------------------------------
    Hi folks,

    After recently upgrading from v4 to v5, I've noticed something odd.
    I can no longer interact with the ESET Icon in the Notification Area!

    Nothing happens when I double-click or right-click. (Win7 x64)

    The only response I DO get is when I "mouse-over" the icon, and then I can see the version # (5.0.93.0) and virus sig (6489).

    If I want to actually get into the program itself, I have to go through Start|All Programs...

    Anyone have an idea why this is happening? (and how to fix it?)
    __________________
    Neil ¦¬D
     
  2. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    My initial thought is some sort of incompatibility with another program running on the computer. Can you tell us a little more about your current computing environment?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  3. Neilyum

    Neilyum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Hello Aryeh! :)

    Thanks for taking an interest in my problem!

    I'm not really sure what you mean by "current computing environment", but here goes:

    Brand new fresh install of Windows7(x64) on a brand new 500 GB HD, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, and all other Programs/Apps newly installed as well (including Eset).

    Please let me know if you're looking for different information!

    Thanks in advance! :)
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,051
    Location:
    USA
    Does this happen all of the time? I have found that the icon can be unresponsive if the program is busy. If I open my downloads folder both the icon and the downloads folder become unresponsive for up to about 30 seconds while I assume it must be scanning the files.
     
  5. Neilyum

    Neilyum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Hi xxJackxx,

    Yes, more constant than occasional.

    It wasn't like this when I first installed it (about a week ago), so I'm guessing it's a conflict with some other software or program I've installed since.

    Thanks for trying though! :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.