nod32krn hogging cpu problem

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by geepondy, Jan 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. geepondy

    geepondy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    63
    This afternoon I was in a situation where nod32krn was using 98-100 percent of the cpu, immensely slowing down the system. I do not know what I was doing to cause that except I was download some files thru Firefox but it had been at least ten or fifteen minutes since last download. I waited for NOD to clear itself but it never did so I rebooted the pc? All seems ok now. Is it normal for NOD32krn to occasionally get stuck in some mode where it hogs the CPU time? If it happens again is there a way I can find out what is causing that to happen? It is a regular xp system and I'm running spysweeper and zone alarm in conjunction but only the NOD program was hogging the CPU and I had closed Firefox too.
     
  2. Elwood

    Elwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Mis'sippi
    NOD32krn has never hogged the cpu on my system that I'm aware of, but I'm running Windows ME.

    Did Firefox shut down completely when you closed it, in other words, after closing Firefox, were there any "hanging" firefox.exe processes listed on the processes tab of Windows Task Manager?

    What version of Firefox are you using? It might be advisable to clear your download manager's history or configure Firefox to clear it either upon successful download or when you close Firefox (tools > options > privacy etc.). If you are using Firefox exclusively, I wouldn't think you would need an antispyware app running all the time. I've never had a single problem with spyware or any detected since I switched to Gecko based browsers (as is Firefox) several years ago.
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Same here, never seen this to date.

    Cheers :D
     
  4. geepondy

    geepondy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    63
    Hopefully it was an isolated incidence. Another thing I noticed was installing programs with NOD running was much slower. Upon viewing the CPU resources while the program was installing, I noticed NOD was constantly busy and using a lot of the CPU time. I think in the future, I will shutdown NOD, Zone Alarm and Spy Sweeper when installing anything.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If an installer unpacks a lot of files packed with runtime packers, it will take NOD32 considerably longer to scan them. You can, of course, disable advanced heuristics and runtime packers, but this will reduce detection capabilities significantly.
     
  6. bs259

    bs259 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    I don't know if what happened to me is the same thing that happened to you, but the first time i ran a virus scan on my system my resources were running at 100% , i cant remeber the exact #'s for each program but the 2 highest were one of the NOD exe's and the other was mim.exe(musicmatch) i just ended the process on the mim.exe and everything returned to normal less than 10% resources.
     
  7. Yoshman

    Yoshman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    44
    Hi,

    i think we both have the same problem - i found it also in german community. Today i got this file http://www.ratdvd.dk/downloads/ratDVDSetup-0.78.1444.exe
    and first imon scanned it for two minutes and after that amon do the same. Another file is this one http://www3.sympatico.ca/gtopala/siw.exe
    But the probs are new, has it to do with some compression/ decompression algorithm which were added to nod last two or three month?

    yoshman

    EDIT: I disable the AH as Marcos said and the problem is gone, but this is just i quick'n dirty solution i think - because AH is one of the big advantages of nod - isnt it? These "probs" startet in november or december last year - was there an update of the AH?
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2006
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Imo it was Firefox not NOD32. Pardon, I'm tired so I can't figure out if you looked at taskmanager.
     
  9. hadi

    hadi Guest

  10. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    a little OT perhaps, but this is a known issue with mim.exe - it used to be a lot worse a few patches back...Killing mim.exe prior to a full system scan seems to be the only real solution to this at this time....
    :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.