NOD32 v4 Won't Update "general compiler" error

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by mkong409, Jul 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mkong409

    mkong409 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I wanted to give NOD32 a try based on some friend recommendations.

    I installed on my machine and everything went fine. However, the software continues to error when updating. The error is "General Compiler" error.

    I'm not sure if this is a trial software issue, or whether something is broken here. I did find the other threads on this issue and tried the solution provide there, but no dice. (https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1118593&postcount=2)

    Anyone have an ideas?

    I'm running Win7 RC1 x64 (that may be the issue, however I see posts saying that Win7 runs fine with NOD32)
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Have you tried clearing the update cache?
     
  3. mkong409

    mkong409 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Yep, and I made sure all .NUP files were removed from the folder after doing that, rebooted, ran update again. Still no go.

    I will add, I did have the Kaspersky Win7 beta version installed prior to this, I did do an uninstall of that and rebooted. No complaints from NOD32 on install about that, just thought I would post it for additional reference.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Just out of curiosity, are you logged in as an administrator? Does the problem persist after restarting the computer?
     
  5. mkong409

    mkong409 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I'm using my domain account, which is part of the local administrators group.

    My laptop is in the domain, but most of the time I am logged in cached as I am mobile and not connected to the domain. However, I am still granted admin credentials even while cached.

    UAC is on for Windows 7, I have not disabled it.

    Yes, I have tried multiple reboots, that doesn't seem to work.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.